Brake controller - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 03-12-2010, 02:17 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: port allegany,pa
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake controller

my integrated controller is set on 10 but when coming down a hill with 3 to 4 horse in tow I only have 3 of the bars light up on the controller. but when I use the slide lever I get all the lights and you can feel the trailer stopping the truck
I called the dealership and they told me that the controller runs off the speed of the truck the faster your going the more voltage is applied to the controller. does this sound right to any

05 F350 SC FX4 sortbox
DYI coolant filter
4 turbo back
AFE stage 1 air fliter
SCT sf3
edge insight CTS
owenkicker is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 03-12-2010, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wow, that doesn't sound very good to me. I guess thats why I see so many trucks adding a brake controller under the dash and not using the factory one.
Levand16 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-12-2010, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just hooked up my travel trailer for the first time to my 06 F-350 and my brake works based on how much pressure I put on the brake pedal. Doesn't seem like speed has anything to do with it.
Levand16 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-12-2010, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: port allegany,pa
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just talked to the dealership again this time to a mechanic. said I have a ground problem. said to check by running a extra ground wire from truck to trailer
or I have a bad magnet. check by unhooking all of them and check the ohms on each should have .4 to .6 ohms on each
if higher replace that one

05 F350 SC FX4 sortbox
DYI coolant filter
4 turbo back
AFE stage 1 air fliter
SCT sf3
edge insight CTS
owenkicker is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-12-2010, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good to know
Levand16 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome