Brake controller - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2010, 02:17 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: port allegany,pa
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake controller

my integrated controller is set on 10 but when coming down a hill with 3 to 4 horse in tow I only have 3 of the bars light up on the controller. but when I use the slide lever I get all the lights and you can feel the trailer stopping the truck
I called the dealership and they told me that the controller runs off the speed of the truck the faster your going the more voltage is applied to the controller. does this sound right to any
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-2010, 05:54 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wow, that doesn't sound very good to me. I guess thats why I see so many trucks adding a brake controller under the dash and not using the factory one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-12-2010, 07:22 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just hooked up my travel trailer for the first time to my 06 F-350 and my brake works based on how much pressure I put on the brake pedal. Doesn't seem like speed has anything to do with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-12-2010, 07:37 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: port allegany,pa
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just talked to the dealership again this time to a mechanic. said I have a ground problem. said to check by running a extra ground wire from truck to trailer
or I have a bad magnet. check by unhooking all of them and check the ohms on each should have .4 to .6 ohms on each
if higher replace that one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-12-2010, 10:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good to know
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors