doesnt seem to want to get up - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2010, 06:14 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
doesnt seem to want to get up

I'm new to this truck and all but from a dead stop she seems like it doesn't want to accelerate hardly at all. Its almost better to "roll" on the throttle then just stomp on it. I understand the turbo has to spool up, but for the first 2000 rpm its like there is nothing. Then after about 2k we have full boost and we are zipping right along. It just seems strange, and I wonder if this is normal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-11-2010, 06:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Are u letting the truck warm up?
Old 03-11-2010, 07:20 AM

Yeah, I won;t move my truck until it has idled about 5-10 minutes if it is cold. If I try to go with it cold, it bogs and doesn;t want to move hardly at all. (I do have a tune and it dumps fuel faster than it can burn while cold)
Old 03-11-2010, 07:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Absolutly.. I could be in it for an hour and it still acts this way. I would compair it to traction control being on..(which I don't think it has) its almost like the truck has to think about it for a second, while it slowly accelerates. And once it figures everything out it brings on the boost, and zoom.
Old 03-11-2010, 07:31 AM

I'm not sure, may need the turbo and egr cleaned. But I am not 100% sure, someone who knows exactly whats happening will be along soon... for ya
Old 03-11-2010, 08:55 AM

What are you comparing it to? Most any large turbodiesel is going to seem a bit sluggish off the line compared to a gas engine. Of course, put a 15k pound trailer behind it, and see which one is slow getting moving.