Blown Headgasket Symptoms? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2010, 09:08 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Blown Headgasket Symptoms?

like title says , What would be some common things to notice if you had a blown headgasket besides losing water in the tank? Any smells? obviously power loss, but anything way to really check? Im just used to a regular old small block ford that you can hook up a compression/leak down tester and figure it out that way. Im by no means a diesel mechanic so anything would help out thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2010, 11:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slow6.0 View Post
like title says , What would be some common things to notice if you had a blown headgasket besides losing water in the tank? Any smells? obviously power loss, but anything way to really check? Im just used to a regular old small block ford that you can hook up a compression/leak down tester and figure it out that way. Im by no means a diesel mechanic so anything would help out thanks guys
There are tests that you can run with the 6.0 as well. One thing to watch for is a egr cooler that is gone gives the same type of symptom as a blown head gasket.

Watch for white puffs of smoke from exhaust. Run the truck with the cap off the degas bottle and see if it is bubbling(building pressure).

For the egr cooler, park the truck on a bit of a down slope and pull the egr valve and see if it is wet. If it is,that is a pretty good indication that the egr cooler is hooped.
Old 02-27-2010, 12:02 PM

-Tea kettle noise or noise similar to running your finger over a wine glass on hard acceleration or decleration
-Coolant puking out the degas cap