New Insight not working??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Insight not working???

I got a new edge insight and It worked for about a day and now it won't power up.... the computer won't recoginze that it is connected either.... it won't even light up in the truck and will light up with red when i plug it into the computer but thats it... it says there is no new updates availble... any thoughts?

strokepower is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
smokersteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
smokersteve is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:47 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 
mudrunninpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
you might have to call tech support, Im stumped

Mike




"The Iron Pig"



mudrunninpig is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:51 PM
Super Moderator

 
Goose350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Have you checked the fuse?

The Mullet Mod
Stock 2005 F-350 4x4
*Afe Intake
*4" TB Exhaust
*Scangauge
*SCT
*Bulletproof Diesel oil bypass
*Bulletproof Diesel water pump
*Tuned FICM
Goose350 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
smokersteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 4,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
smokersteve is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:58 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ill check the fuse tomorrow.... i was planning on calling in the morning cause i tried tonight and was too late in the evening.... but this is what i don't get.... my brother actually bought it... and he is not a truck person.. just wants things to work and doesn't care as long as they work type of guy (not like us)... i told him that i really wanted one and he said well if you want the dang thing you install your gauges in my truck and do all the work and you can have it... i said deal... but i am the one who installed it in his truck with the probe and everything worked great when i first installed it... he was headed somewhere and said it just stopped working (30-40 minutes later i suppose)... so that is why he made the gauge deal cause he didn't want to deal with call edge and all that... so i installed my gauges in his truck today and the insight didn't work in my truck at all... so ill call tech support tomorrow... maybe its just a bad unit

strokepower is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i went out and plugged up my SCT to see if the OBDII was working and the SCT fired right up so its not a blown fuse... something is wrong with the insight i think..

strokepower is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-06-2010, 04:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MoyockPowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokepower View Post
I got a new edge insight and It worked for about a day and now it won't power up.... the computer won't recoginze that it is connected either.... it won't even light up in the truck and will light up with red when i plug it into the computer but thats it... it says there is no new updates availble... any thoughts?
You may have already tried this, but if not, here goes. You have to plug the Insights cord into the OBDII port first, then plug the other end into the back of the Insight device....that's the only way I know of the PCM recognizing the device. Try it this way if you haven't already. Let us know how you make out.

'05 6.0L, 128k miles, Racor CCV6000 Filter, Oil Bypass Filter, Fumoto drain valves, Coolant Filter, ZooDad, HighIdleMod, BullyDog 4" TB, VXCF9 Strat, Edge Insight Gauge, Torque App, Fuel Press Gauge, Upfitters, 4" SJ lift w/Bilstein 5100's, Ride-Rite Airbags, Rough Country Dual Stabilizers, 24" Wipers, '08 Rear Diff cover, Mobil1 Syn 5W-40, 6.4L banjos, Blue Fuel Spring, SS HPOP screen, '08 Mirrors, Zerex ELC.
MoyockPowerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-06-2010, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hey fellas.. i called edge first thing thing morning cause i was positive i had done everything right and covered my bases by that point.... turns out that the egt probe was what was causing the communication loss..... as soon as i unplug/plug in the edge probe to the connection part of the insight cord it turns on/goes off.... so they are sending me a different probe cord... everything is great.. thanks for the suggestions and help....



on another note... the guy at edge says he has seen plenty of problems with then insight and sct being used together... he said they see a lot of cases where the insight won't read "all" the parameters it's capable of when being used with and sct... you guys having any problems with yours?

Another question.. I can't get my insight to connect to my computer... i would like to be able to get everything set up while there is snow on the ground and have it read for the truck when i get done... but it always says "disconnected" in the status bar at the bottom of the insight software screen... any thoughts?


Last edited by strokepower; 01-06-2010 at 03:07 PM.
strokepower is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-06-2010, 04:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MoyockPowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokepower View Post
hey fellas.. i called edge first thing thing morning cause i was positive i had done everything right and covered my bases by that point.... turns out that the egt probe was what was causing the communication loss..... as soon as i unplug/plug in the edge probe to the connection part of the insight cord it turns on/goes off.... so they are sending me a different probe cord... everything is great.. thanks for the suggestions and help....



on another note... the guy at edge says he has seen plenty of problems with then insight and sct being used together... he said they see a lot of cases where the insight won't read "all" the parameters it's capable of when being used with and sct... you guys having any problems with yours?

Another question.. I can't get my insight to connect to my computer... i would like to be able to get everything set up while there is snow on the ground and have it read for the truck when i get done... but it always says "disconnected" in the status bar at the bottom of the insight software screen... any thoughts?
Guess we'll need to keep that bit of info handy as well. Maybe we could get a sticky started for Insight concerns. I don't see why the Insight would read PID data any differently depending on whether it was used in conjunction with any other product....The Edge Insight is a read-only device...if anything the SCT may be affecting PID data, but I can't see why it would be Insight specific issues. I see everything I'm supposed to according to the Insight user guide. No problems here.

'05 6.0L, 128k miles, Racor CCV6000 Filter, Oil Bypass Filter, Fumoto drain valves, Coolant Filter, ZooDad, HighIdleMod, BullyDog 4" TB, VXCF9 Strat, Edge Insight Gauge, Torque App, Fuel Press Gauge, Upfitters, 4" SJ lift w/Bilstein 5100's, Ride-Rite Airbags, Rough Country Dual Stabilizers, 24" Wipers, '08 Rear Diff cover, Mobil1 Syn 5W-40, 6.4L banjos, Blue Fuel Spring, SS HPOP screen, '08 Mirrors, Zerex ELC.
MoyockPowerstroke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome