5W40 or 10W30 '03 6.0L, recom. please - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2009, 11:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
5W40 or 10W30 '03 6.0L, recom. please

Hello, I've been reading around here for a couple of weeks, GREAT SITE!
I'm relatively new to diesels, have been tinkering with some lately.

First off I have a simple question about oils, my eyes are burning from reading everything else about FICMs ect right now lol

I'm in Houston TX, currently using Delo 15W40, I've been reading that alot of you use 5W40 and some recommend SuperDuty 10W30.
I was going to switch to the 10w30, what do you guys suggest (and maybe why?)

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2009, 11:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

If you have a 6.0L Diesel...then go with 5w-40 Synthetic...I don't think out 6.0Ls like 10w30...may not be suitable...but someone will clear that up in a minute.
Old 12-23-2009, 11:34 AM

Send a message via Yahoo to cxrxaxz
Nobody here agrees that it is good to run 10w30 in your truck, atleast none that i have seen. I switch from rotella 15w40 conv. oil to 5w40 syn. upon recommendations on this site. All i can say is i should have done it sooner. It cured my cold start issues and made my turbo smoother and whistle more. I can go out in 20 degree weather when the truck has sit for 12-15 hours and start it up and it acts like its warm. None of that clank clank clank it used to do lol. I am a supporter now lol. They also say its fine to run year around and thats what i intend to do. I am also getting an oil bypass system so that i can go longer between oil changes to make up for the price difference in the oil.
Old 12-23-2009, 11:35 AM

Feedback Score: 2 reviews