Odometer accuracy - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2009, 08:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NOR CALI
Posts: 1,637
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Odometer accuracy

So, I know speedo is off by 10mph....do you think my odometer is off? I was next to my wife driving home in seperate cars and we clicked off a mile together. Once her Camry hit a mile my truck was at .09..... so I am guessing every 10 miles I go, I actually have gone 11.... so 100 miles I would have gone 110 and 200 is 220 and 300 is 330 and so on..... this must explain why I was thinking I should be getting more out of my 40 gallons then what the odometer was reading...thank god.... anybody have similar issues with thiers..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-2009, 08:32 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Yes it will be off. Mine is off, cant remember how bad though
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-23-2009, 12:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: phoenix
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mines off too. not sure how much. i have 315 tires (i think) and even with the sct rotations per mile thing, its still a little off
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-23-2009, 02:20 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Everyone with over sized tirtes has this "issue". Mine was 7% off until I calibrated my odometer/speedometer with my AutoEnginuity scanner. Now it is dead on!

Before I knew I could do this I just compared my speed on the GPS with the speedometer and calculated the difference. Mine happened to be 7%. I would just add 7% to my miles logged before I divided by the gallons used. Now it is much better!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-23-2009, 10:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank View Post
Everyone with over sized tirtes has this "issue". Mine was 7% off until I calibrated my odometer/speedometer with my AutoEnginuity scanner. Now it is dead on!
OK silly question maybe but where in the heck is that option at? I've searched till I can't search no more and I havent found a place to recalibrate the speedo with my AE anywhere!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-23-2009, 01:56 PM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey~do View Post
OK silly question maybe but where in the heck is that option at? I've searched till I can't search no more and I havent found a place to recalibrate the speedo with my AE anywhere!
PM sent. Call me tonight if you need to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-23-2009, 02:03 PM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here it is for everyone:

In the Ford module, when you pick your model and year, you can go to the bottom where you pick "generic" or "enhanced", etc., you pick "anti-lock brakes" or something like that. Then when the program starts, you go over to the tabs on the right side where you can run a buzz test, etc., for the Powerstrokes and there will now be a pull down for "Tire Selection" or something like that. Each click of the "<" or ">" on the screen with the mouse (not the ones on your keyboard) will change your tire diameter by 1/2". I run 315 BFG ATs which are not a full 35" high. I put in 34.5" and my speedo is dead on with my GPS!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-23-2009, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You da man Hank! Dont know how I missed that all these times but I sure managed it somehow.

Now if I could just get it to connect to my wife's truck like it used too....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-23-2009, 05:03 PM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davey~do View Post
You da man Hank! Dont know how I missed that all these times but I sure managed it somehow.

Now if I could just get it to connect to my wife's truck like it used too....
Glad it worked out! Someone showed me that trick a few weeks ago. Wish I had known about it 2 years ago!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-24-2009, 03:35 PM
N.S.D.Q.

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,927
Thanks: 9
Thanked 40 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
3.5% off with my 35's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors