34 foot enclosed trailer first time. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2009, 01:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 34 foot enclosed trailer first time.

Howdy all! I'm going to be moving a lot in the next few months and my plan is to load up a 34' trailer to haul my stuff around. I have a lot of experience towing 4 place snowmobile trailers but nothing THIS big. So first off, the trailer is a three axle standard hitch trailer with electronic breaks.

Do I need any special licencing for this? What should I watch out for/prepare for on the two cross country trips I'm taking (one in december)?

thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2009, 04:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

You should be fine. No licensing need to tow a trailer. Just remember that when your switching lanes to keep room to clear the trailer. also you will have to turn wider on some right turns so take those wider then normal... I have a 40' Enclosed gooseneck and i just need to remember that i have a bigger trailer then my 18'
Old 11-15-2009, 04:15 AM
wriott

nothing special needed to haul this trailer. just make sure trailer tires are aired up and try not to turn around in REALLY tight spots... tri axle trailers that are loaded like to rip axles or tires off when turned REALLY tight and fully loaded. good luck
Old 11-15-2009, 04:26 AM
Banned

I also would be sure you have a spare tire and tools to fix a flat just in case.
Old 11-15-2009, 05:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

#1 get a load equalising hitch if the trailer didnt come with one,especially if youre not using a drw with a long wheelbase.
#2 take the time (with a helper ) to find out what your "offtrack" will be.(does the trailer follow the same path as your tires on a turn...how much is it off?