High Idle Mod Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 09:52 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
High Idle Mod Help

Okay so I found the light blue wire with yellow strip and the white wire with blue strip and I hooked them up to a simple toggle switch. Start the truck and flip the switch and nothing. What did I do wrong or what else do I need to do?
redsmoke is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 10:04 AM
back in the saddle

 
shu873's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,483
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Set your emergency brake and try it again...

Kurt

shu873@powerstroke.org

'06 True Blue/Silver 250 crew cab
ARP's, EGR blocked
AFE stg.2, MBRP 4" pipe
Air Dog 150, ITP reg. return
Bulletproof oil bypass system
Banks technicooler
Ride rite air springs in the rear
EGT, boost, and fuel pressure gauges by DiProcol on the pillar

Plus a few other odds and ends...
shu873 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Already did that and no luck. Thats the first thing I tried. I did just get a simple switch with no gound on it. Do I need to get one with a ground to ground it?
redsmoke is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 10:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
03Powerstroker6.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no just a two prong switch and hook the wires, truck must be in p not touching foot brake, poss p brake on, not working wrong wires.

03 F350 Lariat CC LB 4x4,
straight Pipe 4" exhaust 6" tip
3" front lift
5100's bilstiens
high idle mod
Sct Gearhead tuned,
EGR deleted
trans,fp, boost, egt, ect, eot gauges
vgt switch
2low Switch
Zoodad
315/75/16 baja claw
Custom trac bars
coolent filter
ccv mod
arp studs by me
afe stg 2
fuel bb mod
Hids
Smoked LED tails/3rd
Harley headlights
Smoked led tail lights
08 T gate
Upgraded banjo bolts
2 12" subs/6x8 infinity speakers
JD cool Gaurd II coolent
03Powerstroker6.0 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just read something where some one said it didnt work when you had an SCT. Any of you guys using the SCT and High Idle Mod. I no I got the right wires. I got a pic on the net and there the same wires I hooked together and nothing.
redsmoke is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fairfield, MT
Posts: 589
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Double checked again got the right wires. I even went and hooked up a wire to the battery direct for 12 volts and hooked to lb with y stripe and nothing. Brake off in neutral has to be my SCT
redsmoke is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Oak, IN
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My high idle works fine with my SCT loaded.

2005 F250 4x4 6.0L PSD, 6 Speed hand shaker
Dark Shadow Gray

SCT xCal2 with DJ's Tunes, MBRP Turbo-back Offroad exhaust...bye, bye kitty and muffler.

Finally studed, EGR deleted, blue spring, Zoodad and AFE CAI
Groundhawg is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 12:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
JaimeG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: No, Ill
Posts: 746
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought the high idle wire was the purple/light green stripe wire.


05 F350 CCSB Dually 4x4
Recon Clearance & Mirrors
Newton 2.5" Leveling kit
Toolbox & Transfer Tank
SoundOff Led Mini Bar
Western Wideout
Pioneer DVD HU
JL Audio Amp
Eclipse Subs
5" Exhaust
03 Turbo-Done
JaimeG is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 02:18 PM
Serving Our Country!

 
topdwg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 2,167
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
For an 04 the wire you are looking for comes out of the the middle harness where the harness routes up to the dash directly behind the parking brake handle. One of these wires will be Light Blue with a Yellow stripe. This is the PTO function wire from the PCM.

The other wire you are looking for is a White wire with a Light Blue stripe. This one is also easy to find. While looking under the dash direct your attention to the black OBD II datalink connector mounted to the lower part of the dash to the right of the steering column.

My truck works fine with the SCT...

2012 F-350 SRW King Ranch
SOLD - 2004 Lariat F-250 4x4
6.5 Pro Comp Lift W/ Fox Shocks, DeeZee Tool Box, 08 Diff. Cover, 37x13.5/20's Pro Comps, Zoodad Mod, SCT w/custom tunes, 4 in EX., AFE Intake, ARP, Recon Lights, High Idle Mod, RCD EGR Delete, Fumoto Valve, Oil Bypass Kit, 03 Turbo, Yukon Gears, Farmboy Stage II Traction Bars, Dieselsite Coolant Kit, Amsoil, HIDS, Edge Insight CS, PHP FICM
topdwg is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-10-2009, 03:35 PM
Emergency Services
 
kimber_da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 247
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to kimber_da
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsmoke View Post
Double checked again got the right wires. I even went and hooked up a wire to the battery direct for 12 volts and hooked to lb with y stripe and nothing. Brake off in neutral has to be my SCT
Is your tranny Manual or Auto?

The above opinions are my own and should not be substituted for common sense.

03 F-350 6.0 6speed
kimber_da is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome