Speedometer on new 07 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:43 PM
CW4 Retired, US Army

 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alexandria, AL
Posts: 612
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Speedometer on new 07

My speedometer on my my 07 250 doesn't read right.

My truck has a factory lift kit with 35x13.50r20 tires.

When I drove it home the first day I was on the interstate and blowing by folks at only 65-70mph. I knew that wasn't right. I had to take the truck back to the dealer a couple days later and while I was there I had them reset the computer for the tire size. They said it should've have been done but since they were doing the reflash on the computer he updated it for the tires.

Well it seemed a little closer than before but not right. So I got out my gps and checked it against that;

At 30mph on the speedometer the gps read 32-33
At 50 the gps read 55-56.
At 70 the gps read 78-79.

I know this system is all electronic so could it be a bad speed sensor or something.

It wouldn't bother me as bad if it were a constant difference but it varies more as you increase speed and I drive in a lot of small towns where 4-5 miles over the limit might get you stopped.


Ricky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:29 PM
CW4 Retired, US Army

 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alexandria, AL
Posts: 612
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Droppped it off at the dealer to have them check it. I told them to check the sensors since it was an inconsistant difference.

I'll keep you posted.

Ricky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've noticed the same with my 06 F250 no lift. What did they tell you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-03-2007, 08:02 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ford doesnt offer

a factory lift. That was something that was put on by the dealer. It will be off more the faster you go. You can buy a little control box from super lift that will correct that. Also you can reprogram your pcm for diff tire sizes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Big Cypress Indian Reservation
Posts: 2,756
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is constant. Its just off by about 10%
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-04-2007, 03:36 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Look at it this way, since it's reading low you aren't putting as many miles on the odometer as you are actually driving. That's better than it reading high and putting more miles on it that you are really driving.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-07-2007, 12:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhpilot View Post
My speedometer on my my 07 250 doesn't read right.

My truck has a factory lift kit with 35x13.50r20 tires.
Dealers don't normally recalibrate speedometers after they lift a truck, guess you found that out.
Now if they calibrated the computer for 35" tires it may still read wrong, because some 35" tires are actually taller than that due to the type of tread. You're going to have to measure the height of the tire and then have them correct it based on that. But it sounds like they got it pretty close, and just need make one more adjustment.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-07-2007, 07:30 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no bad sensor, or anything, its way too consistant, chances are if something was messed up in the computer the speedo wouldnt work at all, or would be reading very weird. that is a speedo that isnt calibrated right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors