Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Advice on coolant flush with thermostat and coolant filter install

7K views 24 replies 9 participants last post by  Danner717 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone. Im new to diesels and working on my truck and Im looking for any advice or tips and tricks. This weekend my friend and I plan on doing a coolant flush, new Mishimoto thermostat housing with high temp thermostat and install a Mishimoto coolant filter.

Truck currently has some unknown green coolant in it and Im going to replace it with Rotella ELC. I plan on doing a couple hose water flushes then follow with about 5 distilled water flushes. I've been reading about putting some Cascade in on first flush to help dissolve any silicate goo that might be in there hanging out. Anyone do this? I might give that a try. Im sure I can manage this part from all the stuff I read about doing flushes.

This is the part I would like any advice on since this looks like a little more work involved than the flush. Doing the thermostat kind of worries me because of the tight area in there to work with the fuel line and the EBP sensor being right there. The current thermostat holds temps around 175-185 under normal driving. I bought the new Mishimoto thermostat housing with the high temp thermostat installed in it when they had their pre sale going on for the housing. I decided to just go with the whole thing because of all the stuff I read about people having issues with the thermostat not fitting the older housing correctly since Im certain I have the original housing from 2004, like everything else that's still original on my truck. I plan on removing the thermostat before doing the flushes and then installing the new housing and thermostat and coolant filter before I add the ELC.

The coolant filter install looks fairly simple to do so I should be ok with that.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
And sorry if I made too long of a post.

See less See more
#2 ·