how to flush the cooling system on a 6.0? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 12:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how to flush the cooling system on a 6.0?

hey guys im wanting to do a cooling system flush on my 06 and install a coolant filter kit from diesel site, i was just wondering what is the proper way to do this, i would really like a ford techs insight on this. im a diesel tech for cummins central power and we always drain the system and add 1 gallon of a cleaning or degreasing agent made by fleetgaurd depending on the reason for the flush ie. oil in coolant, or just scale and rust removal etc. etc. and fill with water, run the engine to temp 205-210 long enough that the fan kicks on 3-4 times, then pinch off a heater hose to the heater core at the lower rad hose pull it off, put a garden hose where we removed the heater hose to the lower rad hose remove the rad cap, turn the water on and back flush it and powerwash the surge tank (degas bottle) out while doing so. then when the water coming out the cap is cold water and clean, we removed the garden hose and let the sytem drain out, hook the heater hose up, fill with straight water and run to temp ( just so the thermostat opens) to neutralize the remaing chemical, drain it out and fill with coolant or repeat the chemical flush is needed. this is how i have been trained to do it and it works but i like to do things the way the manufacturer wants it done if at all possible. so im all ears and curious how anyone else does this. thanks guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2009, 06:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I'm interested too.

Back to the top for ya.
Old 07-20-2009, 09:37 AM