Need some V10 Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Ford Gassers A Place for Diesel nuts to discuss Ford Gasoline powered vehicles!!!

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2011, 11:18 AM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Need some V10 Help

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the GAS of Ford trucks and I am looking to get a motor home.

I heard the V10 is the way to go but I am weary of getting an older V10 that blows the spark plugs out. I heard the newer one are fixed...

Can someone give me some advice on what year(s) I should look into or 2valve vs 3 valve (i don't know the difference) and things to look out for?

FYI: I am looking to buy a 24'-26' Class C motor home that can pull my jeep (about 4000 lbs) on a car hauler tandem axel.

Thanks so much everyone, I know I will get some GREAT input!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2011, 06:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The spark plug issue was resolved in 2002 IIRC. 2005 was the first year for the 3 valve engine. The 3 valve would also be mated to the torqueshift (5r110) trans. This is thought to be a near bulletproof combo. The 3 valves will also have slightly more power.

My dad has a late build 01 V10 (2 valve) and has had zero issues from it. It's been and still is a great truck. The V10 is a great engine and I would recommend both the 2 or 3 valve.
Old 04-22-2011, 09:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Most of the time the reason that the plugs blew out is because they were incorrectly installed. The 3V with the torqshift is a great combo, just don't expect great mileage, 11-13mpg.
Old 04-22-2011, 09:54 AM
Banned

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
i have some friends with E450 motor homes with a v10, like said they work n go n go. but man if you can find one with a 7.3 you'd be set, too bad i havent seen one yet..