need help with 4.2 v6 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Ford Gassers A Place for Diesel nuts to discuss Ford Gasoline powered vehicles!!!

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2010, 03:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
need help with 4.2 v6

ok here's the deal.i lost my job,and lost my company truck.08 6.4 ps. so i had an old 98 f150 with a locked up motor and bought a motor from a 99.motor and trans went in fine.but they guy had cut the harness right at the main plug on the 99.so i figured i'd just use the harness from the 98.well nothing matched.all the plugs are different sizes. and there are lots more of them.so i get the plug from the guy i got the motor from and soldered every wire back color to color just as it was.problem again,there was an extra wire that didn't have another end.it's light blue,no clue what it does.after all this i start the truck and it cranks right up.but has a bad miss.i drive it down the street and it will only run 35mph to the floor.i start checking for fire at the plug and both middle plugs aren't firing.changed the coil pack cam sensor and crank pos sensor. still the same.
is it possible that the 98 computer just isn't reading the 99 sensors right? could i get the 99 computer and make that work? could it be the wire i couldn't find the other end to? it is either a light blue or grey hard to tell.

any help out there? need the thing running so i can get to job hunting

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:09 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,455
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you should have changed the intake manifolds and all the sensors from the old motor to the new one. Even on transmissions when we have to install a used one I swap all the sensors from the old one to the new one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:27 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well when i bought the truck the motor was out of the truck and torn down to a stripped down to nothing.and i had never worked an a efi truck in my life lol owned a bunch but since they were fords i never had to work on them lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors