got LTC - need suggestions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Firearms Discussion Discussion of all types of firearms.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2009, 07:04 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
got LTC - need suggestions

Hi All,

Well I finally got my postie in the mail and will be picking up my LTC tomorrow.

I've been trying to research as much as I can and have come to the following list of what i'd like to have for firearms. Please comment and/or suggest.

Also, be aware that I'm a newb to most of this. I've fired rifles (.22s) and assorted handguns (.22, .38, .44, 9mm) - none of which I've owned so, maintenance is completely new to me. I've always taken well to target sports and would like long(er) range shooting to be something to work towards...so, here's the list...in the order of planned purchase.

2 x Ruger 22/45 (MK III hunter maybe) - for cheap plinking
1 X .223 rifle
1 X .38 or .357 revolver
1 X Glock 23 in .40
1 X shotty of some sort

Also, what's the deal with convertible barrel pistols (meaning capable of shooting .22 as well as .38, etc..)? are there reliability or accuracy issues, maint. issues?...

thanks!!

Last edited by daveyburt; 12-30-2009 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-30-2009, 02:43 PM
Premium Member

i know there's lots of enthusiasts out here so: evening
Old 12-30-2009, 05:12 PM
Premium Member

Congrats on the carry permit. Sounds like a pretty good list. A .357 revolver will shoot .38's so you get a two for one deal there. A friend has a Thompson Contender with about 6 barrels and has no prob with accuracy. When you swap out barrels, the optics go with the barrel so no problems if you take care of the scope, sights, whatever.
Old 12-30-2009, 06:12 PM
Premium Member

Thanks!

I'll check out Thomsons as well.