Need some welding advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
FABRICATION FORUM Let's see your ideas and work! :)

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2013, 06:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need some welding advice

Hey all, I need some welding advice , an I know on here there has to be a few of ya that have done quite a bit more than I. I just got into fabricating my own stuff, and just started welding recently. I've tacked and repaired all throughout my childhood but now that I'm a little older, and out of high school, I can afford the equipment. I've bought myself that Lincoln AC 225 arc welder that's available anywhere and has been around for 1000 years. I'm still learning how to set myself up, and create nice beads around what I'm doing, practice makes perfect I suppose. I've TIG welded a time or two, and actually found that to be the easiest for my hand. My questions to you guys is if anyone has any info on how to set myself up for different types of steel, or stainless and all that, just if there is any general rules of thumb to go by any techniques, what stuff is better than others, I've been looking into thermal dynamics Tig welder, that's what I used prior and liked it). I'm determined to teach myself how to weld the proper and clean way, so I can fab some stuff up for my project truck, and have another useful skill under my belt, cause once you learn something, nobody can take that from ya!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-14-2013, 07:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sorry i missed your post but what are you really wanting to learn. As there is a lot of little things that you can really only pick up with experience and someone there by your side to teach you.