Soldering Iron - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
FABRICATION FORUM Let's see your ideas and work! :)

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2013, 08:14 PM
Emergency Services

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Soldering Iron

Okay guys, I'm just getting into wiring on my truck, I've been heat shrinking mostly but I'd like to solder my connections for exterior LEDs for durability. Can anyone recommend a good iron I should be using? I'm also unsure as to how I would cover a soldering connection of multiple wires merging into one? If anyone can give me some tips I'd really appreciate it!

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2013, 10:50 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
For small stuff when I can't bring it to my bench I use a cordless ISO tip iron. For heavier stuff I have a dual wattage gun IIRC it's something like 100/200 w. At my bench I use either a Weller WES50 or WD1 with a variety of attachments depending on the job. Soldering is like everything else, you have to have the correct tool for the job. For splicing multiple wires, strip them back about a inch, slide some heatshrink over one end, twist them together, heat the wire up with the soldering iron and let the solder draw into the wire.
Old 04-17-2013, 09:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

I use my weller brand butane soldering iron pretty much all the time for terminations. as long as your not soldering a board, you should be fine with just a cheep one. just dont put too much heat on the wire for a long time. I always touch the tip to the wire and melt the solder onto the wire vs using the tip of the iron to create the puddle. Just my 02 cents.
Old 04-17-2013, 02:38 PM
Emergency Services