My train horn set up - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
FABRICATION FORUM Let's see your ideas and work! :)

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:35 AM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,899
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
My train horn set up

Hey guy thought id throw this up here and see if you guys notice any problems with my set up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-2013, 03:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western New York
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I might add a relay to the air solenoid, depending on the draw of it. Don't forget the horn switch is on the ground side of the circuit.


EDIT: I may be wrong with the horn being on the ground side. I had a wiring diagram for the horn, but I can't find it.

Last edited by Tj Krawler; 02-21-2013 at 03:34 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-21-2013, 04:41 PM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,899
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tj Krawler View Post
I might add a relay to the air solenoid, depending on the draw of it. Don't forget the horn switch is on the ground side of the circuit.


EDIT: I may be wrong with the horn being on the ground side. I had a wiring diagram for the horn, but I can't find it.
I just found out on another thread that its 300 mils and he said it should be fine with just the horn wiring
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-21-2013, 04:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Westminster MD
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I always put a switch between the pressure switch and compressor . That way I can control the compressor as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-21-2013, 05:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 878
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: My train horn set up

I wired my compressor to an ignition on power source, that way it only runs with switch on or truck running. Don't want a leak to develop and it kill your battery.

Sent from my DROID X2 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-21-2013, 05:16 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,447
Thanks: 49
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
My train horn set up

I prefer to have a switch on the compressor too, because the pressure switch will and can fail at some point. That way you have another way to turn it off and can run it only when you want or need too. I ran all my switches through my upfitters.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-21-2013, 05:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western New York
Posts: 958
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews


Key on power is an idea. I would put it on a switch though. The compressors I've been looking at pull 20-40 amps. I'd rather not have another 40 amp load starting the truck in the middle of winter. And as others have said, if there is an air leak/ bad pressure switch, you could turn it off so you don't drain the batteries or burn out the compressor.


I was also planning on using another air solenoid on the lowest port on the tank so you can "dump" the air to drain the water. Better than being under the truck and letting an 8+ gallon tank dump 150 PSI+ of air out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-21-2013, 05:49 PM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 2,899
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
i like the key on idea where would i tap into that circut?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-21-2013, 06:19 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,447
Thanks: 49
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Look at my album for my tank and compressor and horn mount pics
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-21-2013, 06:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 878
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: My train horn set up

I've got move tapped into the fuse box to one of the fuses. Cant remember which one as it's been a while, but haven't had any problems. Some might say not to do it this way but I see no problems with it. Year and half with no problems.

Sent from my DROID X2 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors