Roof Rack - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
FABRICATION FORUM Let's see your ideas and work! :)

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 10:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Roof Rack

Im wanting to make my own roof rack and want to get some opinions. The dims are going to be something like 4.5'x5'x5"-3". My main goal is to mount 4
4"x6" procomp light across the front. I have no welding experience at all so it shoud be an intresting project. Heres what i came up with on MS paint, i leaning towards the first one. BTW i know its not even
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2010, 10:42 AM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I like the last one and what are you going to make it out of? but i hope it goes well practice with the welding before you do this, also i dont know how they mount today but look into the mounting systems out there maybe you can think of something better
Old 03-27-2010, 11:56 AM

Im going to make all the tubing arond the out side 1.5" DOM and all the cross bars 1' then im going to put 1.5" tubing across the bottom and put metal mesh on it and possibly on the sides too.

For the mounts I was thinking about retro fitting the Defender rack mounts to it, seems like the simpliest way to go.

I see aloooota grinding in my future
Old 03-28-2010, 12:08 AM
Serving Our Country!

Send a message via AIM to 1tonpower
save your self some money and 1.5" seem less pipe with .125 wall. are you going to use 90 radius bends for the corners or do you pain on doing all your own bending.
i dont know about the mount your spoke of. anything that uses the drip edge as the mouthing point will be the strongest. good luck at take pics
Old 03-28-2010, 07:06 AM

Heres a link to the mounts
http://http://defenderracks.com/cate...asp?category=2