Welding guru's i need help... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
FABRICATION FORUM Let's see your ideas and work! :)

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welding guru's i need help...

I have a Lincoln Weld Pak 135 that has quit working, will only give me a tack weld on the highest heat setting then it briefly stops. My grounds on the metal are good as im only working with bare steel. Any ideas of whats wrong?
TexasPigHunter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 10:30 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Are you using flux core or gas shield? Are you using an extension cord? What size metal are you welding?


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^^^ Im using .35 FluxCore, no extension cord, and usually welding 1/8 to 1/4 inch ^^^
TexasPigHunter is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 10:46 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
How old is the welder, how much use have you put to it? It may just be getting weak and old.

One thing you can try is grinding the work area. If it has a preservitive on it to prevent rusting. It could be giving you a bad ground.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 10:51 AM
.

 
Big Tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Make sure the tip isnt contacting the cover.
Make sure the lead isnt kinked or damaged.
Make sure the wingnut on the wire feed is tight.
Make sure the roll of wire can turn freely.
Sounds like you have a wire feed prob of some sort.
Big Tone is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 11:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
66Bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's a Lincoln. There's your problem.

'95 F-250HD
ZF 5-Speed 13'' clutch w/ SMF conversion
B&W Gooseneck
Custom Spare Tire Mount

66Bronco is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 11:39 AM
Runnin'wita2cylhandycap
 
OneBigDoofus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wes Taycksus Ya'll
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you have a line luber on it? Have you cut and pulled the wire out then blown compress air through the liner. Corrosion/rust on wire flakes off in liner and can cause grief. Blow liner clean.

Free Peek at a Nice Pair!
The only "Tuner" in my truck, must have fell out of the wifes Tunerfish Sandwitch.
Ford F-450 Cummins slideshow pic's
OneBigDoofus is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 11:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 66Bronco View Post
It's a Lincoln. There's your problem.
+ 1 to that statement
astaindsoul5446 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 11:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does it feed wire constant? sounds to me if it is feeding wire and the amperage cuts out that the micro processor on the control board is F'D up.
astaindsoul5446 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 01-31-2010, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^^^not much use, two spools of wire, 8 years old, wire feeds constanly but the arc stops
TexasPigHunter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome