Newbee to Diesels: Frustrated with Cold - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2007, 07:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbee to Diesels: Frustrated with Cold

Hello Forum!

I stumbled onto this very informative site resulting from a frantic search for answers to my 2001 F-350 7.3L. I am new to the diesel world and have a novice (at best) mechanical ability, especially with diesels.

Currently, I am going thru my first winter with this truck. It has 140K miles. Last Saturday, during a 9 degree day, the truck stranded me. After a tow home and putting it in the garage and heat. The truck started. Imagine how pleased I was. However, shortly after starting and running for 2 minutes. It stalled again...and it would not start.

Having no experience with this type of engine, I called a good friend who had a 7.3L. His first suggestion was to purchase a new fuel filter, get a bottle of anti-gelling juice, mix a 50/50 solution of the juice in the fuel resevoir, heat 'er up real good, and all should be good. I also added some the "juice" to the fuel tank.

This whole gelling of fuel thing seemed logical to me, yet the anticdote has not resolved the problem. I'd say approximately 15 gallons of fuel is in the tank.

For your consideration, I was forced to by a small amount of fuel away from my normal purchase point. Probably 10 to 12 gallons to get me to my normal fueling location.

After reading through several responses on your forum, I have been educated on several topics and I am asking for the assistance of fellow strokers as how to proceed...

Of particular interest, was a post on CPS's (Cam Position Sensors), Fuel Pumps (in the tank I suppose), and/or a batch of bad fuel.