Check Engine Light on RUNS ROUGH dialy hard working truck Help!!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Aurora Co
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Leading edge props
Check Engine Light on RUNS ROUGH dialy hard working truck Help!!!!!

I am very smart around the garage although this is my first diesel problem.The Truck: 2001 F-250 Crew cab short box 7.3 PowerStroke diesel with auto trans and 4 wheel drive. This truck is a work horse never gets a day off is always pulling a trailer and runs 18 hours a day, gets between 1000 to 2500 miles a week. Needless to say I need this truck. Oh and it has almost 300,000 miles on it. There are a few problems that have come up but the biggest one and most recent is this. About mid February "it is cold here" even after being plugged in all night the truck would start and the check engine light would come on and it would go into limp mode until it was up to temp. Once at temp the truck ran fine no issues. When the weather got warmer here the truck started in the morning and didn't have the problem. The last week it has been above 60 here it has had that same problem in the morning again, and even if its warm out I always let it warm up in the morning. Yesterday the light went on then off and I left and when I was driving it came back on and hasn't gone off. The symptoms are that I believe it is in limp mode and that is causing it to shift hard run rough and wont accelerate much past 45 it shakes like hell. I went last night to checker auto parts a bought the best scanner that they had, it dosnt work on my truck so I tried it on my Excursion it dosnt work on that either. But when I tried it on my cummins it worked and my 2500hd chevy it worked? I called ford they said you cant scan fords only the dealer can I think this is bs. I went to a shop around here they scanned it it came up with no codes? I do not want to take this truck to ford I take pride in working on my own trucks and know that it was done right by myself. Please any direction would be great. This is the best truck I have
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:57 PM
Super Duper Duty

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fairfield CA
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
try getting a programmer such as an SCT or superchips. they can read codes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors