2006 6.0L in Iraq - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 04:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2006 6.0L in Iraq

Short intro, I'm a Air Force vehicle mechanic doing a tour in Iraq. We're all pretty well stumped by the problem we're having and a buddy of mine pointed me here.

We've got 2006 F250 with the 6.0L in it. It originally came in a CEL. I checked the codes and there were quite a few. The engine oil temp was too high, the ICP was too low (which we've seen a lot of), along with a few others that I can't recall at the moment.

We quickly discovered that the oil filter lid was leaking so we tossed a new filter and lid on it. That took care of the engine oil codes. I noticed that the coolant was low, so in the process of "topping it off" I discovered the lower rad hose was busted. Fast forward 2 weeks and we got a new hose on it and filled the coolant system, no more leaks on that end.

So I take the truck out for a test run. Fastest we can get around here is 40mph. So I take it out and flog it as hard as possible to make sure nothing starts leaking. This is standard operating procedure for us, cause our "customers" aren't exactly nice to the trucks. So I'm zingin' along at 40mph and the accelerator stops responding, I shift to neutral and try a restart...no dice. I get pulled over and try starting it a few more times. All I get is cranking with no firing.

I tow the truck in and I checked fuel level (good), oil level (good), and coolant (good). I read through some of the posts on here and checked the FICM and ICP voltages using our Snap-On MODIS. All the voltages check out with no drop during cranking. Any ideas you guys can throw out would be great. Unfortunately no one here is real aquainted with the 6.0s and we don't have the option of a dealership.

Thanks in advance,
SSgt J. Sharp