99 cranks, no tach, no CE or glow plug lights - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
99 cranks, no tach, no CE or glow plug lights

Like it says its a 99 450, 7.3 auto 4x4. Was running to use the PTO, then it just died, Already changed the cam sensor. Its sitting in a customers driveway so any help would be hugely apreciated. All the lights come on for the oil and abs etc. but there is no check engine or wait to start lights and the tach doesnt move when cranking. It will not even connect to a scanner to pull codes. Is it the PCM, I am stumped, I checked all the fuses also.

P.S. I would have it towed and worry about it later but were rebuilding a bridge and well its not on the right side of the creek...

Last edited by strokeandgo; 02-20-2009 at 01:00 PM. Reason: ps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:06 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mount Washington KY
Posts: 435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you check the fuses under the dash and under the hood, sure sounds like the fuel bowl heater has shorted and blown the fuse.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah looked over them all, is that circuit under the dash or hood? The truck was low on fuel, I dont think that it ran out but it may have, there is fuel in the filter housing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On mine that fuse is under the dash. It's a 30amp. Right side of the fuse panel, towards the bottom. Can't remember the number.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think there is a PCM relay too that can go out. You can swap it with something that you don't need to start the truck, like the AC relay, but I'm not sure which is which and what not. I will look and see.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ill have to go double check, is that the same circuit that powers the ecm?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:16 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mount Washington KY
Posts: 435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Depends on what year, early 99 or late 99, pretty sure its a big maxi fuse, on mine 30 amp under the hood. Left side of the engine bay right behind the air filter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4ds4me View Post
Depends on what year, early 99 or late 99, pretty sure its a big maxi fuse, on mine 30 amp under the hood. Left side of the engine bay right behind the air filter.
I knew it was in different places on different years. Didn't think about it being different between early and late 99.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Medford
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
All the fuses look good, I just had someone else look again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors