5V to starter relay trigger? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2009, 11:43 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
5V to starter relay trigger?

Got stranded at Best Buy. Hit the remote start when I came out of the store, heard fuel pumps running when I got close enough, but no starter engagement. Checked all fuses, bypassed alarm/remote start with no luck. Checked the starter wire Red w/ lite Blue stripe (under dash) and brown w/ red stripe (under hood), it has 5v constant. Truck runs fine if I jump the starter relay. I don't have a wire diagram, but I would think that the starter relay trigger wire should be getting 12v during start rather than 5v constant.

Other things checked.
No other wires going to the ignition switch have 5v regardless of key position.
5v remains on when harness disconnected from ignition switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2009, 01:49 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Update...
Still not sure why there is 5v on the line, but found the relay to be bad. Decided to go a different route for the repair. Ran a new wire from the starter solenoid to the relay on my remote start now the truck can't be started from the key or by jumping the relay under the hood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-11-2009, 01:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to troid123
So...what happens when the battery on the remote goes dead? Or if you lose the remote?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-11-2009, 01:58 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,737
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I have two remotes, and keep spare aaa batteries in the cab. Yes, it dose make things difficult for troubleshooting, but should help to keep the truck from getting stolen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors