'06 F350 No start - in South Korea! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TriggerT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2014, 11:10 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
'06 F350 No start - in South Korea!

All:
I have my '06 F350 here in Korea and I cannot get it started. Here is the story; grab a drink 'coz its a long one!

I am an active duty Soldier stationed in Seoul. My wife and I were traveling a few hours south of Seoul and had no troubles with our truck to this point. We stopped at a rest area, shut the truck off, went to the bathroom, came back out and it would not start (this was February). I knew the batteries were going, but was hoping to get through the end of the winter (had no starting issues prior to this). Some locals tried to help (no I did not have any of my tools with me), but could not get it to start with a jump.

We caught a bus back to Seoul, got a pair of batteries, went back to the truck, no start. We had to tow it off the highway (that is a great story, just let me know if you want to hear the craziness of that!); park it on the side of the road.

I ordered a new FICM just to be on the safe side (it takes a bit to get parts over here), traveled back to the truck, tested, it was bad, replaced, still no start (yes I was getting 48V). Had to have my Beast towed back to Seoul ($900- ouch).

Threw my Auto Engenuity on, no codes thrown, was only getting 250-300 psi at the IPR at 85%. Got the Ford testing diagram, and started to run through the tests I could while I waited for parts and tools; here is what I have done so far:

- checked oil for fuel, good
- checked the fuel pressure, good
- checked the air filtration, good
- replaced all filters (oil and fuel)
- LPOP Oil pressure, after the first cranking, new filter was covered with oil and the filter housing fills
- pulled and cleaned the EGR