truck ran poorly now won't start? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:00 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
truck ran poorly now won't start?

left the movies last night and the truck started up just fine but when i tried to accelerate and it just about died and the check engine light came on. I was able to nurse it home going about 10-15 mph but it would not go any faster. I plugged it in all night went out to start it this morning and it tried to start but was really rough sounding tried for about a half hour and nothing so I check the HPOP level and topped it off. checked glow plug really and it is giving good voltage. I have unplugged the ICP (or so i think, driver side valve cover toward the front) but still nothing. Since the check engine light has gone off, I do not have the tools to read codes, i have a battery charger on it right now so i have good voltage at the batteries as well.

1999.5 f250 7.3 with hypertech programmer and edge attitude both of which are off..... i have re-programmed the computer to stock still nothing....

thanks for any sugestions......

Last edited by CrawlerCraig; 12-26-2008 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:09 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Around
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
psd

it sounds like fuel problems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I pulled the fuel filter and it was full no gel replaced it not to long ago.....plus it was puffing black smoke when i was trying to start it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how do you tell if the IPR is bad?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
id try cps. cam position sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is there a way to test or do I have to start buying parts and trying them that way? If I could read the codes would they be able to tell me?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:33 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Around
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
psd

yes and no some codes will show up but for a O-ring leaking oil by no.
its always good to clean and change o-rings on ipr valve. are you using the right motor oil ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-26-2008, 05:55 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if the cam sensor was bad then the tach wouldn't register while cranking right? my tack moves

I'm using 15-40 valvoline
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-26-2008, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 4,241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
could be your idm module or injector harness under the valve covers. will your hypertech read any codes for it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-27-2008, 01:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just replaced the cam sensor and unplugged all the egde connections and still nothing my hypertech does not read codes........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors