6.0 help needed - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2008, 06:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 help needed

hello, as you can see, im new to this site. i am a mechanic at a small local garage in lewisberry, pa. a customer brought us an 07 f450 with a 6.0 with 27,000 miles on it and its a no start. we found that the injector pump isnt seeing oil pressure from the lower pump. if you take off the oil filter cap and dump oil in it and crank it real quick, it will fire for 2-3 revolutions and then shut down. we first took off the oil pan to make sure the pick-up wasnt broke or clogged, but everything looked brand new. we also already replaced two of the oil valves, (the one plunger style one with a spring and plug right under where the crank snout comes out of the front cover, and the one in the bottom oil filter housing) and still no luck. we also already replaced the lower pump itself (the one that runs right off the front of the crank). now today, we tried the old trick of overfilling the oil to try to get the pump working/making suction. after adding about 5 more gallong (making a total of about 9 gallons of oil) in the engine, it started and ran, and actually had good oil pressure on the gauge. so we figured maybe there was just an air bubble somewhere that we got ran out. so we drainged all the oil back out and filled it to the proper 4 gallon level with new stuff, cranked it and nothing happened. so somehow, raising the oil level is getting oil somewhere that its not getting with the pump and allowing it to run. is there common problem, maybe another oil control valve or something that im not seeing? right now, any advice or input would be appreciated. we're stumped and fresh out of ideas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2008, 06:27 PM