Go Go pedal doesn't work??????? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-31-2008, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Go Go pedal doesn't work???????

Ok, here's what happened. I pulled up in my driveway, stopped the truck but it was still in drive, I went to back out, and push the go pedal and nothing. I put the truck in park and thetried to rev the enigne but nothing. The gauges where operating but when I push the pedal the tach did not move. I shut the truck off and it was kinda hard to start but it started. It appeared to run right, I drove 80 miles round trip, stopping at 6 stores and the truck starts and runs fine. It's a 2005 Excursion with the 6.0. Only Mods are a zoodad. Any insight would be appreciated, D

Da Big One is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 05-31-2008, 07:12 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Big One View Post
Ok, here's what happened. I pulled up in my driveway, stopped the truck but it was still in drive, I went to back out, and push the go pedal and nothing. I put the truck in park and thetried to rev the enigne but nothing. The gauges where operating but when I push the pedal the tach did not move. I shut the truck off and it was kinda hard to start but it started. It appeared to run right, I drove 80 miles round trip, stopping at 6 stores and the truck starts and runs fine. It's a 2005 Excursion with the 6.0. Only Mods are a zoodad. Any insight would be appreciated, D
Possible throttle position sensor (accelerator pedal). Might have it scanned for codes.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-31-2008, 08:26 PM
Shade tree mechanic


 
95dieselsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lake Tapps, Wa.
Posts: 8,298
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Possible throttle position sensor (accelerator pedal). Might have it scanned for codes.

MATT

Now featuring a 6.4 fat bottum 6 speed
95 f250--238k and counting
RDS stage I's-TW live tuned-Dana 60 swap-9" lift/40x13.5x20 ProComps-ZF5 swap/short throw/South Bend CON OFE-Iron Bull front-AFE CAI-SD innercooler-Fab Tech traction bars-MBRP DP/6" black miters-Autometer boost/pyro

"If you dont have ambition and big dreams, you end up working hard for someone who does"
95dieselsmoke is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-31-2008, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'll have it checked out, D

Da Big One is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-05-2008, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
AvroAero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bolton
Posts: 786
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The pedal position sensor prob won't throw a code since theres three resistors in there in line so that if one fails the ECU will know and throw a code. If two fail it'll start but won't respond to the pedal and will throw code. Basically it'll only throw a code if the three resistors don't agree on a throttle position.

But if something mechanical in the pedal went/slipped then it wouldn't work and not throw a code.

FYI


2004 Ford Excursion 6.0
-SCT livewire w/ innovative extreme tunes
-Banks monster exhaust
-Zoodad
-05 conversion w/ harley headlamps & HIDs
-Viper 5900 remotestart/alarm
-ARP studs
-EGR delete
-Defender roof rack with 600W of light
-whelen hideaway strobes
-Sound off Predator dual red-red
-Whelen 500 4 amber 2 blue
AvroAero is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-04-2008, 11:10 PM
Member
 
fabb0429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had the same problem today... was driving down the freeway, went to pass, hti the go pedal, rpm's went to around 2k, then dropped to 750. pulled over and tranny would still engage forward and reverse, would idle fine, and could put the go pedal to the floor and nothing happened. turned the truck off, turned it back on, drove home fine until i got my my house and it did it again. taking the truck in tomorrow.
fabb0429 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome