pulling hp hose off without special ford tool - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2008, 05:32 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
pulling hp hose off without special ford tool

hello all. just in the middle of a headgasket and stud change and am trying to get the valve bridge out but cant get the hp hose coming off the up pipe off. got the one fitting off that goes into the ho oil rail that feeds the injectors but need to get the other end off without the special ford tool.
any suggestions
clarence
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-2008, 05:53 PM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I seem to remember reading something about this. I'll start searching....maybe someone who knows for sure will be by soon. Good luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:21 AM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Is it one of the quick disconnect fittings?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-14-2008, 06:50 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
yes it is. the smaller one that is attatched to the stand pipe going down into the motor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:03 AM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Oh sorry, I went back and reread it. I thought you were talking them off of the HPOP! My bad, I've never taken those off at the motor, but if it is the same type quick disconnects, then it works just like an air hose. I used needlenosed pliers. I'm sure you know this already...

At least I can help bump this up for you...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:41 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
you can use a die grinder wrench. The little black flat wrench 3/4 one end 9/16 on the other. the 9/16 end works great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-14-2008, 08:29 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
sweet. been sitting here waiting for this. i will go try it out and let you know. i am also at a crossroads as well with the ac system. i cant get it evacuated in my town so im not sure what to do there either or i would have been almost done getting them off by now.
thanks for the fast replies guys
clarence
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-14-2008, 08:43 AM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJohnWayne View Post
you can use a die grinder wrench. The little black flat wrench 3/4 one end 9/16 on the other. the 9/16 end works great.
This or a snap ring tool works. Even a flat head screw driver works in a pinch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-14-2008, 09:36 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i it no problem with a grinder wrench. came off pretty easy. thanks guys. now just the ac refridgerant. does anyone know if r134 is able to be mixed with r12? we have a r12 vacuum pump but i really done care about putting it back in once contaminated with r12 as i can get it recharged at a dealer later on.
thanks
clarence
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-14-2008, 09:39 AM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
r12 and r134 do not mix. Did you already purge the system and you are just trying to vac the system down before recharge? If so, you can vac the system down. If you are trying to use a r12 recovery machine. Don't.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors