crank but no start, no 'wait to start' light - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:16 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
crank but no start, no 'wait to start' light

please help, long time reader, first time poster
drove my truck several times yesterday, wouldnt start after shut off for 1 hour or so.
99 f550 SD 7.3
have since replaced the glow plug relay.
i have voltage from pcm power relay, small terminal on glow plug relay.
apparently no signal to close the relay from other small terminal.
i have voltage from battery to large termin. on relay.
i tested the relay with a jumper wire, and "forced" the glow plugs 'on' for 30 secs, still no start.
i installed a TW 6 pack 4 wks ago but have had no trouble until now.
could the TW chip have fried the PCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:30 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No wait to start light usually means the PCM has lost power or has fried. Make sure the fuel bowl heater didn't short out and blow the fuse that gives power to the computer. If thats good then try removing the chip, if the terminals on the computer were not cleaned really really good then it may not be happy. IF the computer is bad then you can get a new one for about $75 shipped, I just bought one last week from an online junk yard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-14-2008, 04:56 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alabamafrog View Post
IF the computer is bad then you can get a new one for about $75 shipped, I just bought one last week from an online junk yard.
i unplugged the chip as soon as i noticed it wasnt going to start, where'd you get your pcm from?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-14-2008, 05:33 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Gatos CA
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unplug fuel heater, check fuses in box under hood (#22)?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-15-2008, 05:25 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think #22 fuse is the older PSD, I beleive the 99-03 is a differnt fuse, something like 30. Thats why I just said check the fuel heater and fuse cause I aint sure which one it is.
I think the website was Car-Part.com--Used Auto Parts Market
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-15-2008, 01:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
checked all fuses again, switched around relays, unplugged fuel heater.
no movement in tach or oil pres. when cranking.
---no luck---
PCM?
do i have to get a "year specific" PCM, if not, what model years will work?
is it plug and play, or will i need to get it reprogrammed?

thanks for your help , guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-15-2008, 01:49 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Your tach being a 99 won't move while cranking.

Check your Fuel heater fuse - it's #28 or something close. It's a 30AMP fuse. That's usually the problem when the WTS light goes out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-15-2008, 01:51 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,088
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Your oil pressure should MOVE when cranking...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:34 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got a new computer for my early 99 from an online junk yard for $75 shipped. I got one from an 01 with code PMT1. I just put it in a couple days ago and she runs good, more power and the tranny shifts a lot better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-15-2008, 05:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've got a handshaker, is there a difference between that and an auto trans PCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors