2004 6.0l large mouth intake - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:08 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bigmike9368
2004 6.0l large mouth intake

ok I ordered my cfmplus largemouth intake. wow was I excited....
I was unaware of what was ahead of me.
I didnt know about the throtle plate under the stock elbow I had to take out. Seems only on the 2004 does it actually fuction (lucky me). So I called cfm and they said ummmmm....
Away heres my problem When I unplug the to wires going to the throtle plate I got a check engine light. I got a (p0487) SO I pluged it back in and left the whole thing sit on top of my engine and drove alittle. now I have no light. How can I do away with the throtle plate and not get a check engine light?
2004 F-250 superduty crew cab
Bullydog air box
4'' pipes all the way back
Edge Evolution programer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-20-2008, 06:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to technoticmedia
bump to this... i have an 03 and need to put mine in too, and I don't want to get a check engine light
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-20-2008, 10:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to bigmike9368
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoticmedia View Post
bump to this... i have an 03 and need to put mine in too, and I don't want to get a check engine light
ok depending on your build date you may be in good shape. I had to ake my cfm kit off and return it. caused a lot of issues with my 2004. I went with the accufab elbow. alot less money and works great. Take alook at the throtle plate under your elbow. If it has 2 wire harness going to it your going to have the same issues I had. Some 2003 the plate is there but it has no wires(it doesnt function) If you have ni wires then you can remove the plate no problem. If you have the wires and still want to do the cfm install you have to get a SCT tunner and have a custopm program done. Over $800........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-05-2012, 02:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 373
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
None of this makes any sense to me lol I have an 04 with throttle plate and cfm intake elbow. No issues here but who knows lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-05-2012, 03:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western NY (Twin Tiers)
Posts: 1,168
Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Im concerned about this now i was going to install an 05 and up elbow with a boost port, i have the throttle plate assembly but there is no throttle plate, it has a wire harness to it, so i will try running it unplugged to see what it does before i purchase.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-05-2012, 03:49 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: kalamazoo,mi
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
why not just unbolt the plate and leave the sensor hooked up most recommend removing the throttle plate on here anyways. my 03 don't have the plate or it would of been long gone because my egr is and it works with the egr. i could be wrong but ive read tons of posts saying to just unbolt the plate. from what i see the cfm large mouth just bolts on top of the throttle body if you call it that and shouldn't affect it either way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-05-2012, 04:51 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,944
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Remove the throttle plate. I don't know anyone that has the throttle body on their truck that still has the plate installed. Remove it and toss it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors