security system - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 05-26-2013, 07:26 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
security system

long story short i let a friend borrow my truck and they are out of state.the truck will die but start right back up "told them fuel port is getting clogged".they said they took it off and cleaned it everything is good.

they replaced the starter from auto zone that was sticking.but while they were trying to get the old one to start they arc'd it on something and now truck won't turn over EXCEPT OUT BY THE STARTER.

THE MECHANIC THEY TOOK IT TO SAID IT NEEDED AN IGNITION MODULE
AND THE PCM REFLASHED.i've never had this happen on a truck so that's why i'm asking....

my friend is paying to have it fixed but i just don't think it is the problem to
be honest but i could be wrong.WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK.....
fatbastardf350 is offline  
post #2 of 4 Old 05-26-2013, 11:06 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
It sounds like someone is just guessing and throwing parts at it. Ask them if the SES light is on and if the tach is registering while they crank. It sounds like it might be the CPS.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-01-2013, 07:19 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah that shop was going to do just that.i had to drive 1k miles round trip to
get truck.i got it home and went to ford and guess what they don't even have an
ignition module for that yr truck 03.

that circuit is built into the fuse box under the dash.ford told me i would never get it to run
with out making some kind of switch seperate from the fuse box.i told them what i thought and said they only way they were in buisness was to rip people off.

i went home took the fuse box out traced the wires down and just simply ran a jumper wire and bam got it started but there are other problems the truck has but will figure that out to.

but they were going to charge me 1k just for the fuse box plus labor and it didn't stop there.i can only imagine how many people have been ripped off because you have a big blue sign out front that says ford.
fatbastardf350 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-14-2013, 11:08 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mods please delete this thread thanks.
fatbastardf350 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome