changed fuel line an wont restart - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 09-22-2006, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: southeastern ohio 45714
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to whale45714
changed fuel line an wont restart

had a fuel leak in the bottom of filter housing on my 97 7.3. put a new filter housing [bare houing used every thing else off old one ] an high psi rubber lines on to.filled the housing up with fuel.the motor hit one time like wanted to start an that was is. i put jumper cables an battery pack on to keep the power up on batterys. i know it would be hard to start . i spent 2hrs trying to get restarted . there is no smoke out of expipe the motor rolls over just fine . my neighbor said to spray it with starting fluid. i told him to go home HELP I'M HAVING POWER STROKE WITH DRAW
whale45714 is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 09-22-2006, 04:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
start checking fuses....you may have a shorted fuel heater
mschn99 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 09-22-2006, 04:38 PM
7.3 tech, supporter

 
fordnut85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DO NOT USE EATHER OR ANY OTHER STARTING FLUID !!! Use some WD-40 so you don't run the risk of breaking something VERY expensive.

Duane

1994.5 F-350, PSD, 5spd, Crew cab, 2wd, DRW
10k mod
Idle control mod
homeade exhaust brake
Tymar intake

fordnut85 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 04:13 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: southeastern ohio 45714
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to whale45714
fuse

ok here i go unhooked fuel heater,opened fuel drain an let it drain it filled up again , fuse box in the dash #6aux fuel good #13eec good #17 diesel indicators good #18 rpm/speed control good now the power dist box under hood#8idm good #17 ips good #22 f heater/glow good #2relay idm replaced note the relay is the same as the horn relay an the horn relay is a lot cheaper pluged truck in an wated 2hrs still no run i did the wd-40 thing it will chug on it AN THERE IS NO WAY I WILL USE THAT OTHER JUNK OR I MAY HAVE [ EITHER/STARTING ]
whale45714 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 06:46 AM
7.3 tech, supporter

 
fordnut85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Next thing i would do was to check fuel pressure, there is a schrader valve just to the left (driver side) of the fuel filter housing. Most fuel pressure testers won't fit down in there but you can go to Lowes or Home depot and get a brass 1/4" pipe elbow and rotate the fitting so it points up, then get a pressure reading.

Duane

1994.5 F-350, PSD, 5spd, Crew cab, 2wd, DRW
10k mod
Idle control mod
homeade exhaust brake
Tymar intake

fordnut85 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 06:53 AM
Member
 
tocools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tollhouse CA
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to tocools
The best thig to do mite be to take it to someone that works on these trucks it could caost you less in the long run
tocools is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 08:30 AM
7.3 tech, supporter

 
fordnut85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocools View Post
The best thig to do mite be to take it to someone that works on these trucks it could caost you less in the long run
A fuel pressure tester will run you about $30 at any parts store and that's about a 1/2 hour of shop rate and they are gonna bill you WAY more than that

Duane

1994.5 F-350, PSD, 5spd, Crew cab, 2wd, DRW
10k mod
Idle control mod
homeade exhaust brake
Tymar intake

fordnut85 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 01:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know this has nothing to do with the fuel, but check the oil in the HPOP reservoir. Also, does the tach move when it is turning over?
BillyP is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: southeastern ohio 45714
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to whale45714
ok here i go; hpop reservoir is full ,there is 4volts going to inj, at val,covers when you crank. have 12.5 volts to glow plugs at covers, what psi needs to on fuel , what psi should the hpop be putting out . think i will look for a 200 psi gauge at work tonight. i have a 6000 psi gauge { bigger is not always a good thing} fuel would not move that one!!! i drained fuel out of the housing an it filled up with to 2 good cranks. the worst thing about it is i have to drive step dads ccchhheeevvvyyy hope the powerstroke is not looking
whale45714 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-23-2006, 04:54 PM
7.3 tech, supporter

 
fordnut85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One onther thing to check is voltage at the battery while cranking. You need to have at lease 10.5v at the battery while cranking to run the IDM. Also your RPM's need to be at least 600 to fire. Be sure to look at you oil pressure guage and make sure it's building oil pressure. If you put a pressure guage on the schrader you should be getting at least 45psi. We are gonna have to go back to the basics on this one

Duane

1994.5 F-350, PSD, 5spd, Crew cab, 2wd, DRW
10k mod
Idle control mod
homeade exhaust brake
Tymar intake

fordnut85 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome