fried pcm on 02 7.3??? need help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 11:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fried pcm on 02 7.3??? need help

So today I went to start my truck and with it being 20 degrees out she hates life starting unless its plugged in... anyways I kept cranking till my batts don't wanna crank it no more...


Now I have a super chips micro max tuner with the high perf tune on
And I have a edge evo I bought off eBay that's vin locked (won't refund me, and I know shouldn't have bought it) that I use for gauges... anyway when my batts died it started retiring to stock and it said unlocking and pcm went through the stages... now I can change the tunes wit the edge but my super chips now tells me its not the original truck.... anyway to fix this or do I need to get a new pcm and programmers? and my truck wont start


Thanks could use help asap
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok got it started but I can tell its not on the same tune as before and its blowing blue smoke and none of my gauges work
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm getting codes

P1316
P0381
P1668
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,982
Thanks: 2
Thanked 96 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You have an IDM issue, either power to it (fuse-relay-connection) the IDM has failed, or a connection to the injectors themselves (UVCH connectors).

I would start with a Buzz Test and see what the IDM resolves from that, you would get some new codes after the test. I don't know if the Edge will do that for you, or you may need a professional diagnostic scanner (Ford, Snap-On, AutoEnginuity etc.)

Edit: none of your Gauges work? On an '02 have a look at this connector first -> POTENTIAL ELECTRICAL CORROSION if your truck is like mine......

Maybe this too -> https://b7445ba3-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites....attredirects=0

Last edited by NoRalPh; 02-02-2013 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmm.. it almost seems as if its trying to double tune the pcm.. cyz like I said the super chips was on highperf when the edge tweaked and made itself return to stock and now I can't use my super chips anymore cuz it says my truck isn't the original.. or the Vin lock process swapped between the super chips and edge some how..


Right now with the edge on a tune it runs fine just none of my gauges work. Cept engine temp and oil pressure and fuel

And my glow plug light stays on and the check engine light stays on even if I clear the dtcs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,982
Thanks: 2
Thanked 96 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
OK, but you have 2 IDM codes for a reason.

Your PCM does sound confused, take all that crap off maybe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-02-2013, 12:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah the PCM is confused, i returned the edge to stock and still nothing removed it from the obdII plug and everything... but now on stock i give it gas it blows blue smoke and acts like the ebpv is shut all the time there is no turbo at all on stock... on edge tune #3 it runs fine. just with no gauges

im starting to think when the edge bugged out it flashed the other trucks stuff on so i cant use my superchips anymore..

if i cant fix this somehow im just gunna get a new pcm and buy a dam chip.. ive had enough of programmers lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors