throttle response please help asap - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 01-15-2013, 08:25 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
throttle response please help asap

it has done it at least 4 times in the last month, i would be cruising normal speed all of a sudden it will turn CHECK ENGINE light and throttle wont respond y will stay iddle, the engine does not sound any different, i would pull over and the car will continue at iddle speed, after a minute or two it will respond and like nothing happend, please help.
ferrari is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 01-15-2013, 08:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
FIRST - if you want help you HAVE to let us know something about your truck (they're Not all the same )

What Year?

What Motor?

What Truck?
NoRalPh is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-15-2013, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
throttle response please hel asap

you right< thanks for pointing that out, my truck is a 99 f-250 7.3 powerstroke.
ferrari is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-15-2013, 08:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Here's where I'd start, there are two small wires under the steering column cover that go to the OverDrive button at the end of the Shift Selector. It it not uncommon for them to chafe through there and draw-down the sensor line to the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) at the top of the Accelerator Pedal.

Look at this link -> https://b7445ba3-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites....attredirects=0

You may not be blowing the fuse yet, just confusing the PCM with the partial short.

This may not be it, but it's a Free Fix for a common problem you may already have anyway.

Next your TPS itself may be failing. Check the plug at connecting to it, next you might consider having it checked with a scanner for proper functioning or just replace it...
NoRalPh is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-15-2013, 08:59 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i wiil look into it, i'll let you know,
thans Noralph.
ferrari is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-16-2013, 08:02 AM
Premium Member

 
kking115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: King & Queen
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 2002 F250 7.3 was doing EXACT same thing. It was the throttle position sensor. Part is very expensive new from Ford ($820 ) because mine is 1 assembly with throttle pedal. You may want to search for used. A Ford dealer (maybe others) can hook their scanner up and watch signal from the TPS to confirm.

2002 F-250 CCLB 4x4 7.3L 4" susp. lift with 315/70r16 Cooper AT3 tires, 4" MBRP straight exhaust, K&N cold air intake with Napa 6637 filter, AutoMeter trans temp, EGT and boost gauges mounted in an AutoMeter triple gauge A-Pillar pod, PHP Phoenix 6 pos chip, amber LED marker lights under cab on drip rail, alpine cd/dvd/navi/bluetooth/backupcamera/ipod/xm sirius , 1300 watt amp with 2 10" subwoofers behind seat, remote start, Cobra NW LTD 29 cb with Wilson 2000 Trucker antenna.
kking115 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-16-2013, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thank you for your help Kking.
ferrari is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-16-2013, 08:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You actually don't have to buy the whole thing. People have said this worked well as a replacement.

http://www.dormanproducts.com/docume...s_Sensors2.pdf
NoRalPh is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-16-2013, 09:21 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have bought the tps before and it cost less than $100 on ebay. but i,ll hook the scanner before. thank you guys.
ferrari is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome