Dies then won't crank - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 03:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dies then won't crank

Ok 02 f250 will crank and run till it gets hot. Then it dies and want start back for about 30 to 40 mins. I've replaced the cps with 2 different new ones and they will not crank it but I can put the old one back in there and it will crank and run for a lil while

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-18-2012, 04:03 PM

i'm no expert on 7.3l but i have seen a few, known problem to cause a short to the pcm. usually either the ebp sensor, or the fuel heater.
Old 06-18-2012, 04:13 PM

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
OK, first thing,,, PCM problems (like shorts) don't "fix" themselves. If it runs again after a cool-down, something is changing.

What does "crank" mean to you? Crank like running or Crank like turning over on the starter?

How's your oil? Are you overdue for a change? What weight oil are you using?

The CPS is a good start, but it sounds like you're covered that

What about fuel? As soon as it dies, open the yellow lever (water drain) on the fuelbowl and see what comes out of the drain tube (pass side, metal tube against the motor, over the ft tire). It should run out of there with at least a cup of fuel.

SES light been on at all?

Is your truck chipped? If so, remove it as a test...

How many miles on the engine?

There's a start!
Old 06-18-2012, 04:19 PM

Oil is good. And I've checked the fuel bowl twice after it died. And once it dies it will spin over good just acts like it doesn't fire. Oil is 15w40 rotella

Last edited by 02stroker250; 06-18-2012 at 04:22 PM.
Old 06-18-2012, 04:20 PM