7.3 wont start....just cranks - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 12:27 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Red face 7.3 wont start....just cranks

ok folks here it is. I am an A.s.e. master mechanic with 20 years experience. I work as a fleet mechanic on a fleet of 176 cars and trucks and lots or heavy equipment. Most of my trucks are diesel fords. I have never had this problem. I'll start with the beginning. It was pulling a trailer from or ranch to town about 45 miles away. Ran perfect. Driver shut it off to go eat and 10 minutes later would not start. just crank. let it sit for an hour and still nothing. Called tow truck and had it towed back and it started and drove good. Ran a full diagnostic sheck with a otc pegasis scan tool. No codes. Test drove for 5 minutes and it stumbled and died. Would not start. came up with a idm circuit code. After checking all wiring at the idm i replaced the idm. Still same but it tries to start but acts like starving for fuel. reran codes and had codes for short in injector wiring. After checking injectors, valve covers, and all wiring still no problems found. Reset codes and now no codes on koeo test. checked fuel pressure at head and it is 65 psi while cranking. I have a rpm reference and injector control pressure is between 2500 psi and 4000 psi. Checked the high pressure oil pump resovoir and it is full. Electric fuel pump is pumping and fuel filter is new andand bowl refills. I replaced the fuel pressure regulator and tested all wiring for it all the way back to the pcm. I have been tracing wiring and doing evertest on mitchell and still this thig will act like it wants to start but does not. It is currently 80-90 degrees outside so glow plugs should not be an issue but i tested the relay anyways. Also ran an injector buzz test and all buzz. I am at th