Can't install my edge evolution. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2007, 12:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can't install my edge evolution.

So I got a new truck, a creampuff '96 F-250 powerstroke. You know the story old guy, hardly ever driven, well taken care of, cheap price. Well anyhow my dillema is I bought an edge evolution hoping to get better gas mileage, but it won't communicate with the pcm. I can check the codes, but I can't tune it. The only thing that I can think of that would be stopping it is that the pcm was flashed at ford to change the trans. shift points. I tried my Dad's superchip max1750 and it had the same problem with communication. So what do you guys think could be the problem. Would one of the more custom chips like the wildman chips work better? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-23-2007, 12:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I love flip chips as u dont got to pull over to change settings.I would recommend geting some gauges boost pyro and tranny if u have an auto
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:05 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Suffolk, Virginia
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Wboy247
Did u buy the evo from a store or a buddy cuz i thought i remember someone telling me you cant use it if it was on someone elses truck unless the evo was programmed on the same type of pcu as yours.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:10 PM
Learning the 6.0 game…...

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Sacramento
Posts: 3,734
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ditto, Where did you get it? I know if you call Edge and say you're having a problem with it they will change it out for a new one. It happened to me. Their customer service is pretty good. If you're reading codes it is communicating with the PCM, isn't it? I think it's the programmer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenmalards View Post
Ditto, Where did you get it? I know if you call Edge and say you're having a problem with it they will change it out for a new one. It happened to me. Their customer service is pretty good. If you're reading codes it is communicating with the PCM, isn't it? I think it's the programmer.

I bought it from an online store. Also I did call edge and they were very helpful, they did send me a second that didn't work either. Also they wouldn't say that the different trans. tuning kept the tuner from tuning the engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:18 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Suffolk, Virginia
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Wboy247
i got the evo too (got 30 days to try it out) an im gonna go with the ts chip for the quick changes and more POWER!! it takes like 5 mins to change the settings on the evo and u have to be parked turn on turn off turn on turn off the whole dang time. The evo's nice to have if you dont have a scanner and the trans temp on it is pretty accurate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-23-2007, 01:23 PM
Learning the 6.0 game…...

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Sacramento
Posts: 3,734
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wboy247 View Post
i got the evo too (got 30 days to try it out) an im gonna go with the ts chip for the quick changes and more POWER!! it takes like 5 mins to change the settings on the evo and u have to be parked turn on turn off turn on turn off the whole dang time. The evo's nice to have if you dont have a scanner and the trans temp on it is pretty accurate.
Same here! I'm going to go with the TS for the same reasons, but I'm going to keep the EVO for the code reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-23-2007, 02:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: rock hill , sc
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check the fuse for the ob11 port
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-23-2007, 06:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwestbrook View Post
check the fuse for the ob11 port
Checked that already.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-23-2007, 06:30 PM
Learning the 6.0 game…...

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Sacramento
Posts: 3,734
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff power View Post
I bought it from an online store. Also I did call edge and they were very helpful, they did send me a second that didn't work either. Also they wouldn't say that the different trans. tuning kept the tuner from tuning the engine.
Well I erased the memory in my PCM and the EVO a while ago. I was getting out during a programming and my foot caught the cable and pulled it out of the OBDII port and erased everything. Turn the key, no dash lights, engine wouldn't crank, nothing. I had it towed to the local dealer and they reflashed the PCM for $100.00 and Edge sent me a new programmer. Maybe you need to have your PCM re flashed stock.

This might be a dumb question but are you sure you have the right programmer for your year?

There are some chips that you can get that have trans. tunes on them, but not all do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors