05 Excursion 6.0 seized a little while starting, now no power and white smoke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 07:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
05 Excursion 6.0 seized a little while starting, now no power and white smoke

Please Help! My wife told me when she was driving she noticed a lot of white smoke but then it quit. I tried to start it last night and it would crank for less than a second and then stop suddenly like it was seizing. I finally got it started and there was tons of white smoke from the exhaust. I drove less than a mile before it completely lost power. Limped it home where it is now. It idles smooth, just tons of smoke and no power. What in the world could this be? P.S. I'm a diesel novice so I won't be able to decipher most abbreviations. Last year it started dying at around 35 mph so I had the PCM replaced. I've also replaced one injector and now another one seems to be dying (cuts out driving uphill and when very cold).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2012, 07:59 AM
Another 6Slow

It would really help if you can get your hands on a code reader but im guessing your EGR cooler took a dump.
Old 03-09-2012, 08:02 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Thanks for quick response.

Thanks for answering so quickly. I don't have a CEL, but I guess it could throw codes and not give me the idiot light??? Also, what is the EGR, and what do you think it will cost to replace? Can I do it myself? I'm fairly handy but have had gas engines my whole life.
Old 03-09-2012, 08:10 AM
Another 6Slow