Gas in diesel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
just a number
 
igoslow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gas in diesel

Thank God this was not me - posting for a friend

Guys,

Stupid me, I loaned my F250 Diesel out to someone who doesn't have a clue what the difference between Diesel and Gas is.
They filled it up with Gas, and ran it until it stopped.
I had it towed into the shop.

Anyone have any idea what I am in store for?
It is a 2008, so I hoping that there is some sort of sensor in place for this kind of thing.

me no gottie nothing





igoslow is offline  
post #2 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 10:52 AM
COLLEGE KID
 
lifewitlooie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
hahahahhahahaha OMG Your friend deserves to get disowned for like 10 years. Or he buys the beer forever. I AM SO SORRY MAN.
lifewitlooie is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 10:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ponca City, Okla
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Blue01F250 Send a message via Yahoo to Blue01F250
oh daaaayum.... that sucks... lemme see what I can find I the tech files

can't find anything, but talked to Marc about this at DITD briefly... he said you will need to empty the tank, change the fuel filter and flush the fuel lines - basically get ALL the lines and anything that can have gasoline in it and replace it or flush it. then refill with diesel and try to start it back up.

that is where my knowledge ends hopefully a Tech will drop by soon!

Last edited by Blue01F250; 09-12-2007 at 11:01 AM.
Blue01F250 is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 11:04 AM
Stupidity pisses me off

 
sevenmalards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Sacramento
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue01F250 View Post
oh daaaayum.... that sucks... lemme see what I can find I the tech files

can't find anything, but talked to Marc about this at DITD briefly... he said you will need to empty the tank, change the fuel filter and flush the fuel lines - basically get ALL the lines and anything that can have gasoline in it and replace it or flush it. then refill with diesel and try to start it back up.

that is where my knowledge ends hopefully a Tech will drop by soon!
Pretty much what I was going to say.

Hope your friend already had kids, because you owe him a 65 yard field goal kick in the balls!

2006 F350 CREW CAB LONG BED KING RANCH

99.5 F350 Super Cab Long Bed, Dually.
SOLD




facebook.com/sactownbumcrew



Quote:
Originally Posted by SMKSTAX View Post
You are not right man, but i still think your funny as hell!
sevenmalards is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 11:10 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ponca City, Okla
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Blue01F250 Send a message via Yahoo to Blue01F250
Blue01F250 is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 11:13 AM
COLLEGE KID
 
lifewitlooie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
What happens if you accidently put gasoline into a diesel... - Q&A

In this post Gas is put into earlier model VW diesel engines.. dont know about 2008.. cant find anything
lifewitlooie is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 11:15 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Does the warranty cover mistakes like this.

I have put 2 gallons of gas in my tank before by mistake. It was 430am I was on my way to hunt. I was probablly still half asleep. I was not even thinking until I smelt the gas. I immiediately shut the pump off. Then I noticed it was only 2 gallons. So I grabbed the diesel, turned the pump on and filled that tank as full as I could go. I had diesel all the way up the filler neck. My truck has no problems. But then again I didn't run my truck on straight gas.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 01:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
lilredpowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Big Cypress Indian Reservation
Posts: 2,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Youre probably looking at new injectors. Someone vandilized my moms truck and put gas in it and ruined three injectors. Side note she claimed it on her insurance and they paid for it.

T.J.
2003 F-350 dually 6.0
Centennial Edition
Straight exhaust 34x10.50 Swampers on Black Rock Stars



Been a member longer than most of the moderators
Thats why I said most Tiff


Think you can trust the government? Ask an American Indian!

My old truck in action
lilredpowerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 01:16 PM
Let's Run'em


 
TwinTurboStroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Man if its a 2008 your are in for a ride.....I don't even know where to begin, they would have to replace fuel pumps, that alone means taking the cab off the frame of the truck... it will look something like this....

then take into account injectors, fuel lines, and whatever else......you might want to take lilred's advise about insurance.....let us know what happens, good luck

-Julian
Facebook
4th 6.fo
TwinTurboStroker is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 09-12-2007, 01:16 PM
COLLEGE KID
 
lifewitlooie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to lifewitlooie
just put some diesel in their and run it through. damage is already done huh?
lifewitlooie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome