engine dying out - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
engine dying out

I've got a 2000 7.3L at the shop that is driving me nuts. It seemed like a classic cps problem but turns out its something else. Engine starts but dies unexpectantly. No tach movement or oil pressure guage movement when cranking. Oil p ressure comes up on mechanical guage but not on dash. No codes coming up on scanner, 6 logged, but for some reason the scanner can't pick them up. Peeled back engine wiring harness, tested cps wires and all seem ok. Kind of wondering if maybe the dash guage panel guages are faulty, has anyone seen this happen, and will a faulty panel cause the engine not to run, also wondering if a faulty idm cause these symptoms. At this point all ideas are welcome. Battery voltage and fluids are all good.
grabowskimech is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 03:48 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 
vitalidle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Might be a fuel issue. When is the last time you changed your fuel filter? Maybe put a gauge on and check fuel pressure.

2002 F-250 4x4 EC, SRW, SB
Auto 93,000 miles
DP Tuner F5
ATS Compressor and 1.0 Exhaust housing high flow back plate
Turbo Back 4" Silverline Exhaust Mbrp Muffler Delete
Isspro Trans,Pyro,Boost Triple Pod
Fumoto Oil Drain Valve
AIH Delete With Boost Fitting

vitalidle is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 03:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
stroke'nvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: s.wheelock VT.
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try this web site,Intellidog.com and click on the dieselmann banner.(has helped me out many times)

06 F-350,FX4, XLT,X-cab,6.0L,A/T,Edge Evo,4" cat-back,Zoodad mod,DC-1's w/33's:burnout :drive:
stroke'nvt is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what are you trying to use to pull codes?? What do you mean 6 codes flagged but none registering??

What pressure does the mechanical gauge read when the dash one says 0??
mschn99 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm using a MAC scanner, engine psi goes up to 15-20 psi with nothing registering on dash guage. Show 6 logged codes but won't let me get into them, maybe scanner has an issue, I don't know but never had a problem with it until now.
grabowskimech is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
20PSI cold is way too low...

see if you can get a hold of a different scanner to see what codes its flagging...could be an IPR issue...wiring....etc...

Also..check the high pressure oil resevour and see if its full (should be within one inch of the top)
mschn99 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The tach should be registering while cranking though, shouldn't it? That is what made me think it's a cps, or wiring in the first place. Base oil pressure shouldn't effect the tach/cps signal, or would it?
grabowskimech is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by grabowskimech View Post
The tach should be registering while cranking though, shouldn't it? That is what made me think it's a cps, or wiring in the first place. Base oil pressure shouldn't effect the tach/cps signal, or would it?
The first thing you should do is check your glow plug light...if it doesnt come on at all....99% chance its the PCM itself...

Since you have multiple gauge issues...i would definately think its a module or wiering issue....check the bulkhead connector over drivers valve cover on the body side of the harness to see if it has rubbed any wires bare....
mschn99 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow plug light comes on fine, and I did check the bulkhead connector and checked the wires all the way to cps, continuity ok, but I wonder if the wire is ok...maybe just holding on by a strand inside. By module, do you mean idm? Thanks for the help Marc.
grabowskimech is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 08-15-2007, 04:45 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by grabowskimech View Post
Glow plug light comes on fine, and I did check the bulkhead connector and checked the wires all the way to cps, continuity ok, but I wonder if the wire is ok...maybe just holding on by a strand inside. By module, do you mean idm? Thanks for the help Marc.
could be IDM or PCM related...as well as the cluster....

did you physically look at the wires by the bulkead connector. No tach signal means it pretty much should be CPS...wiring...cluster...or PCM related... Where your having issues with the oil pressure gauge as well...that to me should narrow it down to looking at the cluster or wiring...

Stupid question i know...but you have checked all your fuses right??
mschn99 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome