my 99 wont start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2007, 09:47 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my 99 wont start

The truck has been running fine and I came out this morning to go to work and the truck just cranks and puts out white smoke. I have 138K on it and an edge evolution tuner set on the lowest setting, I am new to this, can anyone offer some advise? I just checked for codes and my edge scanner said code 0720 insufficient input from output shaft. after I cleared this code the pickup started right up????????

Last edited by rockyridge; 04-01-2007 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2007, 10:26 AM
Premium Member

Sounds like the CPS to me, has it been replaced that you know of?, probably wouldn't hurt to carry a spare with you.

Gord.
Old 04-06-2007, 10:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via AIM to ~CrazyDiesel~ Send a message via MSN to ~CrazyDiesel~ Send a message via Yahoo to ~CrazyDiesel~
Sounds more like a glow plug/ glow plug relay issue.

White smoke when cold starting means you're getting fuel, but not enough heat to light the motor off.

Your glow plug relay is the rear relay on the pass side of the engine block, beside the fuel filter housing, in all likelyhood, if that relay has never been replaced, it needs to be replaced now, as the glow plugs themselves have a pretty good reliability record going for them. GPR 109 at Napa (little$) will work, but it is not for our trucks technically and sits 90 degrees in the bracket from what the ford relay sits, so the wires have to be massaged slightly to fit, but it's only about $25. Ford part is about $120 i think?

How cold was the temp that day?
Old 04-06-2007, 03:14 PM
Premium Member