96 7.3 Cranked ran then died - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2009, 07:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
96 7.3 Cranked ran then died

Hey guys. Kinda a newby when it comes to working on diesels. Im a mechanic by trade but on gassers. Dads 96 7.3 went down yesterday and i need help figuring it out. My mom was driving the truck and it started when she left the att store and as she was leaving went over a speed bump and it quit. Wheres a good place to start? I dont have any diag tools available to me right away just need a good starting point. Also for the past few months, we have noticed when downshifting or slowing down, the truck would kinda hiccup. It would shut off just for a half second the run fine. Any help would be appriciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2009, 08:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

I would pull the valve covers off and check the wireing harness that goes to the injectors. some times it will just come unhooked.
Old 12-31-2009, 11:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Alright charged the batteries and the cps is ok. Spun the truck over and the rpm gauge moved. Seems like its not getting fuel. Any thoughts? What bout the ipc switch?
Old 12-31-2009, 11:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

my guess is fuel, maybe fuel pump, best way to check is to empty your fuel bowl, yellow tab right behind the fuel bowl, then take off your water seperator/fuel filter, turn you key to the on position and then run back to see if the fuel bowl is filling as a responable rate, sorry dont know what it should be for the older 7.3s. if it is not filling very quickly or not at all i would bet its the fuel pump
Old 01-01-2010, 12:10 AM
Banned

Feedback Score: 1 reviews