Sudden Death of TK - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sudden Death of TK

Ok so it's an 05 6.0 PSD stock with 4" straight exhaust with new sct 3 and Elite Diesel tunes. I won't get on t my small issues with Elite yet but anyways. I installed the SCT 3 about a week ago. the truck was doing great everything seems to work fine so on my way home from working a very hard (Sat night 12hr shift) i decided to stop on a backroad boost up the truck let off the brake and Go..... Well she did good 1st and 2nd then in 3rd at WOT the truck just shut down. All systems done check engine light came on some codes for exhasut and 1298. With this being said I haven't had any other problems no smoke no starting issues nothing. I try and put the stock codes back in and nope sct doesn't recognize vehicle . Please help. i looked into the Diesel injector module but haven't read something like this yet. Plus i need my truck back to stock if I still have warranty Thanks Kyle
MIGOAT is offline  
post #2 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 11:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so the truck is still running fine but you can't put it back to stock?

strokepower is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sorry no the truck won't turn over or anything it's dead.. It will let you turn the key and show some gauges saying check service lights and the glow plugs will warm and go off but the truck just clicks.
MIGOAT is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm waiting for the wife to give me the codes I wrote down because i don't think that one is right. I was just trying to say the truck has had no prior symptoms or issues untill now and she is sitting on the side of the road for now.
MIGOAT is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 03:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hmm thats just weird... and you didn't mess with the tune at all or anything... did you try to put it back on stock or a pre-programmed tune... my truck won't go to a pre-programmed tune for some reason but when i reinstall the custom tune it works great....

strokepower is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I just drove it around and hit it sometimes. but when I tried to go back to the stock tune where I thought it was saved in the SCT chip it won't recognize my truck. I'm going to disconnect batteries tomarrow and see what happens then try to get a used IDM but I need a part number and man it's cold and raining here so this sucks not to mention I have no ther car right now. I have no clue what happend
MIGOAT is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-22-2009, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you try to reinstall the custom tune? maybe that could get you to a warm spot or at least get your truck back til you can figure this out.. like i said about mine... i tried loading the preloaded tune a week ago and it did what yours is saying.. check gauges light and no crank.... but i put the custom tune back in and its fine.... but mine never didn't recongnize my truck... try loading the custom tune back in and see what happens? or is it not even letting you do anything?

strokepower is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-23-2009, 07:39 AM Thread Starter
Emergency Services
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm going try it now as soon as I get a ride. I will let you know Thanks
MIGOAT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome