What To Do ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2007, 04:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What To Do ?

First of all, HI to all the Powerstroke.org members.

This past Thursday I just purchased my DREAM truck after 3 hard years of saving. While I wish I could have bought a brand new one, the 2004 you see in my sig is as close to new as I can afford. I purchased it at a local Ford dealer in my area and it only has 37K on the clock.

When it comes to Diesels, I am a complete NEWBIE. I work at a dealership parts department myself and have over 20 years experience combined as a tech and parts seller.

Here is the problem; When I went out this morning, there was a small puddle of oil right behind the left front tire area. I checked it out and it is P/S fluid. It's leaking from the Hydroboost (I think that's what it's called) and dripping down the electrical harness and front leaf spring. After I got down there to check it better, I noticed some motor oil leaks also. Those seem to be coming from the head/block area ? Is that possible ? It's not pouring out, but there is a drip.

Even though I purchased at a dealer, the truck was sold AS IS. When I checked the bottom of the truck, it was clean. Obvoisly it had been detailed recently and the motor washed.

I really need advice here. What are my options at this point ?

1. Should I go back and raise hell to see if they will fix it ?
2. I'm supposed to give them a check on Monday for 5K, should I force them to fix it before I pay ?
3. Should I purchase and extended Ford warranty and try to get it fixed like that ?
4. Will the Ford powertrain warranty cover it ?
5. Should I just bite the bullet and fix it myself ?