Ok, Did Myfirst Mod And Screwed Up - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:12 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, Did Myfirst Mod And Screwed Up

Got my Accufab intake elbow in on Wednesday but with work schedule, haven't had a chance until today to put it on. What a pain in the ??? getting the factory elbow off, and a bigger pain trying to get the new one on. When looking at the truck from the front, the back left bolt on the factory elbow did not want to come out. So a couple more turns of the ratchet and it came lose. When I put the new elbow on, it says torque the small bolts that hold the elbow to the intake to 23ft. lbs, which is what I set the torque wrench to and tighten the bolts in a criss cross pattern, pretty much like you do the wheels. To make a long story short, the rear left bolt hole is stripped out. The other three bolts are torqued to 23ft. lbs, but that one is definately stripped out. Should I use a thread chaser and try to rethread the intake, or am I wasting my time. I know if I take it to the dealer, I will not hear the end of it. Is it possible for the o-ring to get sucked into the intake. I was a nervous wreck driving home, but I didn't have a choice. Was at my mom and dads house where my tools are at. I babied the truck all the way home. Thanks for any help.

Last edited by 06F250FX4; 02-23-2007 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:16 AM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,154
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh man, that sux bad....i don't know what to tell ya but someone here will know a fix for it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:17 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can't hurt trying to retap it. If that doesn't work if you can find a new bolt one size bigger and retap to that size it might work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:58 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
double bump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:57 PM
RET RET is offline
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalidle View Post
Can't hurt trying to retap it. If that doesn't work if you can find a new bolt one size bigger and retap to that size it might work.
Good advice....and chances are a re-tap won't hold the torque settings.

Go a size larger...thats what the dealer would do anyway.
RET
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-23-2007, 01:28 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Posts: 380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I will try that

I will try the next size up bolt. Hopefully one of the techs will chime in also and shed a little more light on this for me.

Thanks Everybody
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-23-2007, 02:34 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: tampa, florida
Posts: 1,071
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hey man u sure it didnt say 21in lbs? seems like 21 ft lbs is kinda tight for that lil of a bolt??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-25-2007, 12:26 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One size up in the bolt size, or a helicoil inserted in a over sized hole should do the trick. I haven't checked, but I think Dust may be right on the torque settings.

Gord.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors