Questions before buying a truck - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2014, 06:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Questions before buying a truck

I'm looking at buying a 1999 F-250 7.3 5 speed manual with 230k miles. Not sure still if it's an early or late 99 since I can't go see it being on deployment, but it's exactly what I want, for the right price and I can have someone check it out and pick it up. I'm new to the scene, being this will be my first diesel. I know it's got the trusty reliable 7.3, but I don't know too much about their transmissions, but I like the manual. Does anyone know more information about them? My rule of thumb that was taught to me was that manuals were always better and more reliable than automatics. Plus you don't lose as much power to the wheels. Should I be worried about the miles on it as per the engine, transmission, axles, hubs or drive train in general? I know if I buy it (most likely I am) I'm going to do a full fluid flush with good fluids, which what does everyone run btw? Also maybe do a decent programmer and maybe look into injectors. Any and all help and info would be greatly appreciated. I'll try to check and keep up on the posts as much as possible. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2014, 10:48 AM
Premium Member

Its a 6 speed not a 5 speed in 99.

As for fluids everybody has their own opinion.

Things change with tuners but right now the Hydra chip has run away with the market because you can run tunes from anybody
Old 04-17-2014, 11:00 AM
Rodslinger's B1TCH

are the powerstroke badges on the fender ahead of the front wheel wells or on the front doors?