How do I adjust my e99 speedometer? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 05-25-2012, 06:41 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I adjust my e99 speedometer?

My e99 has the mechanical style odometer and my speedo is about 8% off so at 70 I'm really doing like 78 because of the 315 tire size. This would not be a problem except for I use this truck in my business and count off mileage, at 20,000 miles times 8% times 50 cents a mile I lost about $800 on taxes last year because of this. Not to mention the increased possibility of getting speeding tickets because of the subconscious psychological effect of looking at the slow speedo.
How do I fix it?

***My Powerstroke Pics***
“Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one” (T Paine)
Government cannot give anyone anything without stealing it from someone else. (A Frog)

alabamafrog is offline  
post #2 of 14 Old 05-27-2012, 01:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
7.3PwrHse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jefferson, NC
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd like to know this as well..

Dave

7.3PwrHse is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-27-2012, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There has to be a way, my 2000 has 37" tires and the speedo is almost perfectly in time with my GPS.

***My Powerstroke Pics***
“Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one” (T Paine)
Government cannot give anyone anything without stealing it from someone else. (A Frog)

alabamafrog is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-28-2012, 03:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
7.3PwrHse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jefferson, NC
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alabamafrog View Post
There has to be a way, my 2000 has 37" tires and the speedo is almost perfectly in time with my GPS.
If I get some time I'll research. Are you sure it's purely mechanical? Mine has been taking spells of not working over the weekend. If i shut the truck off, and restart it starts working again

Sent from my C771

Dave

7.3PwrHse is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-28-2012, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What I was talking about is it has the mechanical rolling numbers instead of the digital readout for an odometer. I think the digital ones are real quick and easy to reprogram but I have never heard how to fix the old style rolling number ones. I believe the speedo is actually controlled electronically by a sensor in the rear-end chunk that reads off the ring gear and sends a signal to the PCM. If yours is acting up its most likely that $20 sensor in the chunk.

Come to think of it I wonder if that’s why my white truck with the 37” tires reads right, wonder if it originally had a higher ration rear-end and whoever lifted it may have swapped to a lower gear rear end but with much bigger tires which balanced out to make the speedo close to the same again?
Hmmm, also wonder if that might have something to do with why it shifts so hard?

Last edited by alabamafrog; 05-28-2012 at 04:47 PM.
alabamafrog is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-28-2012, 04:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Cllake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 333
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You can do it with a programmer. My PHP tunes take into account my new wheels/tires and my speedo reads correct now.
Cllake is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-28-2012, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had 4 different programmers on old purple over the years, none of them would change the speedo, as best I remember they would say something to the effect of this option is not valid for this vehicle. This was with a hypertec, 2 different model superchips, and 2 different Predators. Now I run a custom 6 position flip chip.

***My Powerstroke Pics***
“Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one” (T Paine)
Government cannot give anyone anything without stealing it from someone else. (A Frog)

alabamafrog is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-12-2012, 09:38 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jmaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: church point, la
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
drop to a 305 and it'll be dead on..

e99 F250 7.3 4x4 sb
33" dick cepeks
diy filter - done
gutted ebpv
straight pipe - DONE! .. WOW!!!
later model pcm - soon to be done
guages - next on santy clause list
chip - later on down the road

others in the fleet:
76 IH scoutII
74 IH scoutII
2 73s for parts
93 ranger commuter/beater truck
jmaroon is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-14-2012, 05:47 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke Techie


 
alabamafrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nope, last set of tires were 305 and it was not at all dead on.
I guess no one knows how to do this, must be impossible.
alabamafrog is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-15-2012, 08:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 3,251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've heard that the dealer can re-program the computer for the tire size you're running... not sure how a chip will effect this, or if it would need to be removed to have the dealer do the programming.

Frog, you are correct, the speedo gets it's info from the sensor on the rear end, as you mentioned. The sensor going bad will cause erratic speedo readings, and shift issues, as the trans uses the speed info to shift correctly.

Good luck to both of you... I am in the same boat, my red truck wears 35's, and has no correction, I'm sure it's off, I've been lucky to not have gotten nailed for speeding. Also wonder how much it's thrown off my MPG calculations, I'd bet I'm getting better than what it calculates out to.

Greg

'99 E350 DRW Stahl 11' util box van, 7.3 PSD, stock. 138k SOLD

'00 F350 extcab, 9' utility bed, dually 221k

E'99 F250 extcab, S/Bed 211k

'00 Excursion Limited, 7.3PSD 281k

'84 Chevy K-30, 6.2L TD, woods/trail beater. 141k

Semper Paratus
dieselcrawler is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome