How do I adjust my e99 speedometer? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2012, 07:41 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I adjust my e99 speedometer?

My e99 has the mechanical style odometer and my speedo is about 8% off so at 70 I'm really doing like 78 because of the 315 tire size. This would not be a problem except for I use this truck in my business and count off mileage, at 20,000 miles times 8% times 50 cents a mile I lost about $800 on taxes last year because of this. Not to mention the increased possibility of getting speeding tickets because of the subconscious psychological effect of looking at the slow speedo.
How do I fix it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-27-2012, 02:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jefferson, NC
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd like to know this as well..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-27-2012, 08:38 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There has to be a way, my 2000 has 37" tires and the speedo is almost perfectly in time with my GPS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-28-2012, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jefferson, NC
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alabamafrog View Post
There has to be a way, my 2000 has 37" tires and the speedo is almost perfectly in time with my GPS.
If I get some time I'll research. Are you sure it's purely mechanical? Mine has been taking spells of not working over the weekend. If i shut the truck off, and restart it starts working again

Sent from my C771
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-28-2012, 05:40 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What I was talking about is it has the mechanical rolling numbers instead of the digital readout for an odometer. I think the digital ones are real quick and easy to reprogram but I have never heard how to fix the old style rolling number ones. I believe the speedo is actually controlled electronically by a sensor in the rear-end chunk that reads off the ring gear and sends a signal to the PCM. If yours is acting up its most likely that $20 sensor in the chunk.

Come to think of it I wonder if that’s why my white truck with the 37” tires reads right, wonder if it originally had a higher ration rear-end and whoever lifted it may have swapped to a lower gear rear end but with much bigger tires which balanced out to make the speedo close to the same again?
Hmmm, also wonder if that might have something to do with why it shifts so hard?

Last edited by alabamafrog; 05-28-2012 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-28-2012, 05:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 333
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You can do it with a programmer. My PHP tunes take into account my new wheels/tires and my speedo reads correct now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:07 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had 4 different programmers on old purple over the years, none of them would change the speedo, as best I remember they would say something to the effect of this option is not valid for this vehicle. This was with a hypertec, 2 different model superchips, and 2 different Predators. Now I run a custom 6 position flip chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:38 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: church point, la
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
drop to a 305 and it'll be dead on..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-14-2012, 06:47 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nope, last set of tires were 305 and it was not at all dead on.
I guess no one knows how to do this, must be impossible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Martinsville, West Virginia
Posts: 2,556
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've heard that the dealer can re-program the computer for the tire size you're running... not sure how a chip will effect this, or if it would need to be removed to have the dealer do the programming.

Frog, you are correct, the speedo gets it's info from the sensor on the rear end, as you mentioned. The sensor going bad will cause erratic speedo readings, and shift issues, as the trans uses the speed info to shift correctly.

Good luck to both of you... I am in the same boat, my red truck wears 35's, and has no correction, I'm sure it's off, I've been lucky to not have gotten nailed for speeding. Also wonder how much it's thrown off my MPG calculations, I'd bet I'm getting better than what it calculates out to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors