Think Computer is fried. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:25 AM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Think Computer is fried.

So I come out of work last night and hop in the truck and it wont start. The whole circuit with the electric fuel pump and everything is dead. I checked all fuses and relays (even behind the stereo) and they are good. So I am getting a SES light when I am turning over the engine. I decided to go get a scanner and run codes. I plug it in and wait for 20 minutes while it attempts to communicate with the truck it never establishes commo. So I called the place where I got the scanner thinking it was a piece. They told me that 9 times out of 10 if the scanner cant talk to the computer then it is crashed or fried or whatever they do.

What yall think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zelienople, Pa
Posts: 641
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to harrys91rs
Don't know if this will help, but I had a problem with the bowl heater shorting out. Its on the same fuse as the computer, I think the wait to start light wouldn't come on either. I unplugged the connector for the heater on the back of the bowl and have had no problems since. I'm not sure if it will work on the early 99's.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:44 PM
Oilfield Trash

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station, TX
Posts: 26,301
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
where did you get the scanner and whats the brand?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-05-2009, 02:30 PM
I am that hot

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 1,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to superxcrewfx4 Send a message via Yahoo to superxcrewfx4
My Actron scanner makes my truck shut off lol, it connects after a while but then i hit buttons and it shuts the truck off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-05-2009, 03:05 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I got it from autozone. It was a cheapy, about $162.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:40 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Cmon guys, I need to know if its the computer or not
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-05-2009, 05:01 PM
Oilfield Trash

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station, TX
Posts: 26,301
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
well thats half the prob. autozone scanners dont work on diesels besides pullin codes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-05-2009, 05:12 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thats all I was trying to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-05-2009, 05:19 PM
assistant director

 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
have you disconnected the batteries and reconnected to see if that resets anything
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-05-2009, 05:35 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes I have!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors