E350 reconfiguring Battery cables - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
E350 reconfiguring Battery cables

I have an AMP light on since a "mechanic" changed the Alternator on my van. He also caused a few wonderfully time consuming & painfull problems I have already dealt with. I now want to get two full size batteries on the truck instead of the one large and one skinny (pass side). I fabricated a bracket and mounted the second battery on the frame rail as was done in the later model vans. I ran a very heavy Pos cable from both batts to the starter. This is the same way it was done at the factory except the cable is coming from two locations instead of a single one-w-the 2nd battery Pos term "spliced" into the cable-w-a special post connector b4 going to the starter. My question is about the charging wire that goes first to the starter relay on the radiator core support and then to the left batt (which goes to the starter & frame mounted battery). I am thinking it would be better to go from the alternator-w-another wire of maybe #6AWG to the frame battery. It seems like the original setup would cause the right side battery to suck the juice from the alternator if it needed it and leave the leftovers for the other battery. I now have 2 850CCA batts but for some reason the AMP light stays on whenever the truck is on. This original design just does not sit right with me. BTW-I have a marine type battery disconnect setup so there is no danger of hitting a hot to ground while wrenching.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-2007, 08:18 AM
7.3 tech, supporter

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah the factory setup is kind of a joke, here is how I did mine....

http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/gen...ry-cables.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors